La Vuelta 2023 – Stage 21 (Final)

Hipódromo de la Zarzuela to Madrid, Paisaje de la Luz, 101.5km

Sepp Kuss crowned Vuelta Champion as Kaden Groves (Alpecin-Deceuninck) takes final stage.

Vuelta Espana 2023 – 78th Edition – 21th stage Hipódromo de la Zarzuela – Madrid 101,5km – 17/09/2023 – Sepp Kuss (USA – Jumbo – Visma) – photo Rafa Gomez/SprintCyclingAgency©2023

Kaden Groves (Alpecin-Deceuninck) claimed his third stage win of La Vuelta 23 in Madrid, but with a very different scenario! The Australian sprinter followed Remco Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step) and Filippo Ganna (Ineos Grenadiers) as they put the hammer down on the closing circuit, leading to a thrilling finale of the Spanish Grand Tour. The peloton came back inside the last kilometre but Groves still managed to sprint to victory. He is also the first Australian winner of the points standings of La Vuelta.

Vuelta Espana 2023 – 78th Edition – 21th stage Hipódromo de la Zarzuela – Madrid 101,5km – 17/09/2023 – Kaden Groves (AUS – Alpecin – Deceuninck) – photo Rafa Gomez/SprintCyclingAgency©2023

As he crossed the line alongside his Jumbo-Visma teammates, Sepp Kuss took his first Grand Tour victory after he helped his companions Jonas Vingegaard (2nd in the overall standings) and Primoz Roglic (3rd) conquer six three-week events in recent years.

Sepp Kuss speaking after the stage: “It’s incredible. I think today was the stage that I suffered the most of the whole race, now I’m just glad it’s over. I had a feeling it would be a fast stage when I saw all those guys getting ready to attack. I suffered more today than I did in Angliru. It was a nice way to finish off. No, I’m not different now that I’ve won La Vuelta, not at all. I’ll still be me. It’s life changing for sure. I think I’ll look back on this experience with a lot of fun memories. It’s still sinking in, I think it’s gonna take quite some time. Now, a big celebration. Family, friends are here, and that’s gonna be really special, to be with the riders and the staff, tell the stories of the last three weeks. So many memories and good times.”

Stage 21 Top 5

1. Kaden Groves (Alpecin-Deceuninck)
2. Filippo Ganna (Ineos Grenadiers)
3. Nico Denz (Bora-Hansgrohe)
4. Hugo Page (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty)
5. Ivan Garcia Cortina (Movistar)

Final GC – Top 10

Full results here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *