Jonas Vingegaard wins the Tour de France 2022

Stage 21 (Final): Paris La Défense -Paris (Champs-Élysées), 115.6km

Paris Champs-Élysées, Sunday, July 24th  – Belgian Jasper Philipsen outclassed former Champs-Élysées winners Dylan Groenewegen and Alexander Kristoff to take victory on the final stage of the Tour de France. Behind the hurley burly of the sprint Dane Jonas Vingegaard’s arrived with the other four survivors of Jumbo-Visma to claim his first overall victory at a Grand Tour.

Belgian Jasper Philipsen wins Stage 21

Philipsen’s win was the second of the Tour, the first on Stage 15 (Rodez to Carcassonne) and gave him the title of the the most successful sprinter of the 109th Tour de France and the chance to emulate his childhood hero Tom Boonen who also won his second Tour de France stage in Paris at the age of 24 in 2004. It wasn’t enough to give him the points jersey. That honour went to Wout van Aert who didn’t contest the last sprint in order to be alongside Vingegaard at the line.

Second overall went to Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates), 2’43” down with Geraint Thomas (INEOS Grenadiers) at 7’22”.

Top 10 General Classification

Full results here