Search the news archive:
OVO Women's Tour 2018 - Final
By Mark Sharon
Date: 6/17/2018
OVO Women's Tour 2018 - Final
Untitled Document

June 25, 2018

Coryn Rivera crowned overall winner of the OVO Energy Women’s Tour

Sunwebs' Coryn Rivera has won the OVO Energy Women’s Tour after the five day stage race concluded in Colwyn Bay on the North Wales coast

Rivera, who took over the race lead on stage two, held on a despite a concerted attempt by WaowDeal Pro Cycling’s Marianne Vos to claw back time after taking ttime bonuses on the 122km final leg between Dolgellau and Colwyn Bay. The 25 year old American from Southern California finished the day with an 11 second margin over Vos, losing just three seconds from her stage four lead. Vos' teammate Danille Rowe finished third 25 seconds down. The GC was crowded with 57 riders within one minute of Rivera.

Rivera described her win "Being in the leader’s jersey is all about being in control, having everything cool and under control," said Rivera following her first UCI Women’s WorldTour stage race victory. "The girls and I did really well at that. We set a really good pace on the climbs, there were a few attacks but eventually they came back. I'm really proud to have taken the win, the jersey belongs to the whole team."

The final stage went to Lotta Lepistö (Cervélo-Bigla Pro Cycling), her second win in the race, the first back in 2016. The Finn bested Giorgia Bronzini (Cylance Pro Cycling) with Vos third.

OVO Women's Tour Podium

Final Podium © SW Pix/OVO Energy tour

Porte in Action

Lotta Lepistö wins Stage 5 © SW Pix/OVO Energy tour

The Final Day

A number of riders had tried to escape in early moves as the race headed through Gwynedd in overcast conditions but none were a significant threat to the overall lead of Rivera, as Team Sunweb continued to control the race.

Lucinda Brand of the Dutch team led the race over the first SKODA Queen of the Mountains climb at Bwlch-y-Maen, with former World Road Race Champion Marta Bastianelli (Alé Cipollini) leading the race over the main climb at Nant Gwynant below Snowdon.

A select group of five, containing Rivera, Sunweb team-mate Brand, Amy Pieters, last year’s winner Kasia Niewiadoma (Canyon//SRAM) and SKODA Queen of the Mountains Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle HIGH5) went clear with 20 kilometres remaining, but were reeled in with 10 kilometres remaining by in the WaowDeals team of Vos and Dani Rowe, who had missed the move.

"Today there was nothing to lose," said Lepistö following her second OVO Energy Women’s Tour win – her previous victory came in 2016’s final stage into Kettering. "We gave everything on the road and ended up with the victory, so I’m even more happy than yesterday. There was a strong wind. It was hectic final because no one really wanted to be in the front and use their best power."

Finishing third overall - her best ever finishing position in the OVO Energy Women’s Tour - and the Adnams Best British Rider was Dani Rowe, whose WaowDeals Pro Cycling team took the team prize in the race.

"I feel really proud to be a part of this team. It’s been a really special week," said Rowe who was suffering the effects of injury following a Stage Four crash on Saturday. "I was suffering out the saddle so I just tried to conserve as much energy as possible, riding on the drops up the climb to be as aero as possible and stay in contact with the bunch. After that I got more and more confident that I would be there at the finish. Marianne went for the intermediate sprint to help defend my third place from the two Boels [Dolmans] girls who were just three seconds behind me.

"I had my doubts [getting over the two SKODA Queen of the Mountain climbs], but my team and team-mates didn’t. They believed in me. When I survived the two climbs there was a big chance that it would end in the sprint so I tried to focus on it and try my best."

OVO Women's Tour Race Route

OVO Women's Tour Race Route

Stage list and results

Stage 1 - Framlingham › Southwold, Stage Winner and GC Jolien d'Hoore

Stage 2 - Rushden › Daventry, Stage Winner and GC: Coryn Rivera

Stage 3 - Atherstone › Royal Leamington Spa, Sarah Roy ,GC: Coryn Rivera

Stage 4 - Wychavon District › Worcester, Stage Winner: Amalie Dideriksen, GC: Coryn Rivera

Stage 5 - Dolgellau › Colwyn Bay, Stage Winner: Lotta Lepisto, GC: Rivera Coryn

Stage 5 Results and Final GC

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |