Search the news archive:
Tour Series 2018: Round 3, Aberdeen
By Mark Sharon
Date: 5/17/2018
Tour Series 2018: Round 3, Aberdeen
Untitled Document

April 19, 2018

Round 3: Aberdeen

Clancey and Juniper Triumph in Aberdeen

Ed Clancy powered JLT Condor back into the lead of the OVO Energy Tour Series in front of packed crowds in Aberdeen city centre, taking the individual victory ahead of Tobyn Horton (Madison Genesis) and Robert Scott (Team WIGGINS).The Women's race Nicola Juniper took her first Tour Series victory while Team Breeze maintained its lead in the team standings

Clancey's victory, his ninth in Series history, came at the expense of the Tanfield brothers of Canyon Eisberg, but their fourth (Harry) and sixth (Charlie) placed finishes ensured they took the team win, 12 months on from their previous win in Aberdeen.

While Clancy has nine individual wins to his name, breaking her OVO Energy Tour Series duck in Aberdeen was perennial challenger Nikki Juniper, who won the first women’s race to be held in the city.

Report compiled using material supplied by the Tour Series

Ed Clancy Tour Series 2018

Ed Clancy wins Round 3 Photo credit : SWpix

Commenting on his win, Ed Clancy, JLT Condor said:"In the last races I’ve been sat in the bunch marking out the Madison Genesis guys. Tonight I got into the break without too much thought and effort to be honest. You know my style – I’m happy to wait for a sprint. The tactics were straightforward but it got difficult when we started catching dropped riders! "I didn’t feel good all race to be honest, which put me off doing any real hard work on the front. That meant I had a fair bit left in the tank come the finish. I always fancy my chances in a Tour Series sprint."

Nicola Juniper Tour Series 2018

Nicola Juniper wins in Aberdeen Photo credit : SWpix

"It’s an amazing feeling – it’s been four years coming!" said Juniper (NJC-Biemme-Echelon) afterwards. "To come away with the individual victory for the first time was unreal. I think half of Aberdeen heard my roar. The Tour Series has never really worked out for me before; to be able to do it for my team-mates means more than the win personally. "We have no budget – my team-mates fund everything themselves. There are four of us in a car, paying for our own accommodation, so this shows that you don’t need all the thrills to be able to perform well."

Juniper fought off a highly competitive six-rider move for the race victory, heading home a pair of former race winners in the Series - Rebecca Durrell and Jess Roberts - and also extending her lead in the Eisberg Points jersey classification.

Storey Racing took the team win on the night, mean just four points separate the top three teams, with Breeze leading the way on 29 points, ahead of NJC-Biemme-Echelon and Storey.

JLTCondor Tour Series 2018

JLT Condor Photo credit : SWpix

In the men’s competition JLT Condor lead by a single point from Madison Genesis, with Canyon Eisberg third a point further in arrears, heading to Durham (Tuesday 22 May), where two sets of points will be available across an individual hill climb and circuit race.

Third on the night, Robert Scott moved into the lead of the Eisberg Points competition, with a slender one-point advantage over previous incumbent Matt Gibson and Harry Tanfield.

Just finishing outside the top six on the night and the final member of the seven rider lead group was Morvelo Basso’s Mikey Mottram, recording both his and the team’s best-ever Tour Series performance, helping the team remain sixth in the standings, ahead of UCI teams Vitus and Holdsworth.

Brother Fastest Laps on the night went to Durrell (Storey Racing) and Alistair Slater (JLT Condor).

Team Breeze Tour Series 2018

Team Breeze maintains team lead after three rounds Photo credit : SWpix

OVO Energy Tour Series, Round Three: Aberdeen, Thursday 17 May

Women’s Team Result

1) Storey Racing, 10pts 2) Team Breeze, 9pts 3) NJC-Biemme-Echelon, 8pts 4) Torelli-Brother 7pts 5) YRDP, 6pts

Women’s Individual Result

1) Nikki Juniper, GBR, NJC Biemme Echelon, 44:44.331 2) Rebecca Durrell, GBR, Storey Racing, + 0.157 3) Jess Roberts, GBR, Team Breeze, + 1.034 4) Charlotte Broughton, GBR, Admiral LIV AWOL, + 2.202 5) Neah Evans, GBR, Storey Racing, + 2.295

Eisberg Sprints Round Winner

Nikki Juniper, GBR, NJC-Biemme-Echelon, 15pts

Brother Fastest Lap

Rebecca Durrell, GBR, Storey Racing, 1:50.421

Women’s Team Standings, post Round Three

1) Team Breeze, 29pts 2) NJC Biemme Echeleon, 26pts 3) Storey Racing, 25pts 4) YRDP, 17pts 5) Jadan – Weldtite Vive Le Velo, 15pts

Eisberg Sprints Leaders, post Round Three

Nikki Juniper, GBR, NJC-Biemme-Echelon, 37pts

Men’s Team Result

1) Canyon Eisberg, 10pts 2) JLT Condor, 9pts 3) Madison Genesis, 8pts 4) ONE Pro Cycling, 7pts 5) Team WIGGINS, 6pts

Men’s Individual Result

1) Ed Clancy, GBR, JLT Condor, 1:08:18.011 2) Tobyn Horton, GBR, Madison Genesis, + 0.627 3) Robert Scott, GBR, Team WIGGINS, + 1.041 4) Harry Tanfield, GBR, Canyon Eisberg, + 1.075 5) James Oram, NZL, ONE Pro Cycling, + 2.423

Eisberg Sprints Round Winner

Harry Tanfield, GBR, Canyon Eisberg, 15pts

Brother Fastest Lap

Alistair Slater, GBR, JLT Condor, 1:37.718

Men’s Team Standings, post Round Three

1) JLT Condor, 28pts 2) Madison Genesis, 27pts 3) Canyon Eisberg, 26pts 4) Team WIGGINS, 20pts 5) ONE Pro Cycling, 19pts

Eisberg Sprints Leaders, post Round Three

Robert Scott, GBR, Team WIGGINS, 30pts

Series Informtion

OVO Energy Tour Series 2018
Thursday 10 May Redditch, Worcestershire
Tuesday 15 May Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
Thursday 17 May Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Tuesday 22 May Durham, County Durham
Saturday 26 May Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Monday 28 May Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Tuesday 29 May Wembley Park, London
Thursday 31 May Salisbury, Wiltshire

Men’s Teams
Canyon Eisberg
Holdsworth Pro Racing
JLT Condor
Madison Genesis
Morvélo Basso
ONE Pro Cycling
Vitus Pro Cycling

Women’s Teams
Admiral Liv AWOL
Boompods EDCO NRG
Jadan-Weldtite Vive Le Velo
Storey Racing
Team Breeze
Team OnForm
YRDP Cycling Team

Related Articles
Tour Series 2018: Round 1, Redditch
Tour Series 2018: Round 2, Motherwell

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |