Search the news archive:
20th Santos Tour Down Under - Stage 6, Final
By Mark Sharon
Date: 1/20/2018
20th Santos Tour Down Under - Stage 6, Final
Untitled Document

January 21, 2018

20th Tour Down Under - Impey takes overall as Andre 'The Gorilla' Greipel makes it two stage wins.

Stage 6 : Adelaide Circuit,  90km

Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) has been crowned 2018 Champion at the Santos Tour Down Under while André Greipel (Lotto Soudal) increased his palmares at the TDU to 18 after outpacing Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton-SCOTT) and Peter Sagan (BORA-hansgrohe) for the stage.

With Richie Porte a scant eight seconds adrfit on GC Impey had a nervous day in the saddle. In theory Porte could catch the South African if he secured enough bonus seconds on the intermediate sprints.As it was Porte drew level on time

Richie Porte kicks in his climb to the top of Willunga Hill [pic: Tour Down Under / John Veage ]

Speaking after the race, Impey dedicated his thrilling victory to his family back in South Africa;

"Coming in ... I didn't expect to win the race, but sometimes the stars line up and things go according to plan," Impey said.

"I worked real hard in the off-season, [I'm] so happy to get this win.

"[But] it was pretty hectic... I've been in this position before with Simon [Gerrans] trying to defend the jersey for him.

"I've prepared for that. But it's definitely more nerve-wracking when you have the jersey yourself.

"I'm stoked to get to the line, and obviously with the team I knew it was under control."

Above:Daryl Impey celebrates his overall win [Pic: Tour Down Under /John Veage]

With an uphill stretch to the line for Greipel the stage finish was one of pure strength with no one team being in control coming into the closing kilometre. As the course swung the final section Quickstep was asserting itself on behalf of Elia Viviani. Bora-hansgrohe in turn were scrambling to make sure Peter DSagan was in contact behind their rivals short train.

Despite the high pace it was the figure of Caleb Ewan hunched in his disticntive stlye over his handlebars who appeared at speed to the right hand side with Greipel looming over the top. With twenty metres to go the German pulled out and surged past the Ausssie to take victory.

Speaking aferwards Greipel said," It [the stage win] wasn't an easy one. The team did a good job and controlled the sprint. Towards the finish was a head wind and we had to wait as long as possible. Caleb came like a cannonball from the back but iIwas able to pass him which i think was good timing. I'm really proud of it."

Video Highlights (courtesy Santos Tour Down Under)

Stage 6 Results

2018 Santos Tour Down Under Route Map

2018 Santos Tour Down Under Route Map


World Tour Teams

AG2R La Mondiale
Ben Gastauer, Mickaël Chérel, Matteo Montaguti, Pierre Latour, Nans Peters, Stijn Vandenbergh, Axel Domont

Astana Pro Team
Luis León Sánchez, Laurens De Vreese, Oscar Gatto, Michael Valgren, Artyom Zakharov, Truls Korsaeth, Riccardo Minali

Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team
Domenico Pozzovivo, Ion Izagirre, Gorka Izagirre, Manuele Boaro, Ramunas Navardauskas, Yukiya Arashiro, Valerio Agnoli

BMC Racing Team
Richie Porte, Tom Bohli, Simon Gerrans, Danilo Wyss, Miles Scotson, Patrick Bevin, Rohan Dennis

BORA – hansgrohe
Peter Sagan, Daniel Oss, Sam Bennett, Maciej Bodnar, Peter Kennaugh, Rüdiger Selig, Jay McCarthy

Dimension Data
Tom-Jelte Slagter, Mark Renshaw, Nickolas Dlamini, Lachlan Morton, Jaco Venter, Ben O’Connor, Scott Davies

Steve Morabito, Antoine Duchesne, Daniel Hoelgaard, Anthony Roux, Georg Preidler, Davide Cimolai, Matthieu Ladagnous

Lotto Soudal
André Greipel, Adam Hansen, Thomas De Gendt, Lars Bak, Marcel Sieberg, Bjorg Lambrecht, Jens Debusschere

Maarten Wynants, Robert Wagner, Enrico Battaglin, Daan Olivier, George Bennett, Tom Leezer, Robert Gesink

Caleb Ewan, Daryl Impey, Alexander Edmondson, Mathew Hayman, Jack Bauer, Damien Howson, Cameron Meyer

Movistar Team
Carlos Barbero, Nuno Bico, Marc Soler, Rubén Fernández, Jaime Castrillo, Nelson Oliveira, Jasha Sütterlin

Quick-Step Floors
Elia Viviani, Eros Capecchi, Dries Devenyns, Fabio Sabatini, Michael Mřrkřv, Florian Sénéchal, Enric Mas

Team EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
Simon Clarke, Brendan Canty, Thomas Scully, Daniel Moreno, Logan Owen, William Clarke, Mitchell Docker

Team Katusha – Alpecin
Nathan Haas, José Gonçalves, Pavel Kochetkov, Jhonatan Restrepo, Maurits Lammertink, Tiago Machado, Mads Würtz Schmidt

Team Sky
Salvatore Puccio, Łukasz Wiśniowski, Arley Egan Bernal, Jonathan Dibben, Owain Doull, Kristoffer Halvorsen, Christopher Lawless

Team Sunweb
Nikias Arndt, Chad Haga, Phil Bauhaus, Mike Teunissen, Chris Hamilton, Michael Storer, Sam Oomen

Trek – Segafredo
Laurent Didier, Fumiyuki Beppu, Koen de Kort, Niklas Eg, Alex Frame, Ruben Guerreiro, Mads Pedersen

UAE-Team Emirates
Rui Costa, Diego Ulissi, Simone Consonni, Manuele Mori, Matteo Bono, Marco Marcato, Roberto Ferrari

ProContinental Teams

Scott Bowden, Zakkari Dempster, Nathan Earle, Alexander Porter, Timothy Roe, Steele Von Hoff, Sam Welsford



Stage 1 - Port Adelaide › Lyndoch

145 km


Stage 2 - Unley › Stirling

149.6 km


Stage 3 - Glenelg › Victor Harbor

146.5 km


Stage 4 - Norwood › Uraidla

128.2 km


Stage 5 - McLaren Vale › Willunga Hill

151.5 km


Stage 6 - Adelaide › Adelaide

90 km

Offical Race Website

Related Articles
20th Santos Tour Down Under - Stage 3
20th Santos Tour Down Under - Stage 4
20th Santos Tour Down Under - Stage 5

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |