Search the news archive:
20th Santos Tour Down Under - Stage 5
By Mark Sharon
Date: 1/19/2018
20th Santos Tour Down Under - Stage 5
Untitled Document

January 20, 2018

20th Tour Down Under - Porte makes in five of five on Stage 5 but narrowly misses out on the Ochre jersey.

Stage 5 : McLaren Vale to Willunga Hill,  152.5km

Willunga Hill should be renamed Porte Peak after the Aussie Richie Porte (BMC) took a fifth straight victory, finishing solo eight seconds ahead of Daryl Impey (Michelton-Scott) with Tom-Jelte Slagter two secodns further backj in third.

Porte lauched a ferocious attack just after the mid-pint of the 3.5km climb in a desperate search for race leading victory. The moce was countered quickly by the GC contenders but with time running out ofr race winning moves Porte attacked again 500m later. Only Jay McCarthy (Bora-Hansgrohe) could match his pace but the pairing was short-lived as Porte drove on.

Richie Porte kicks in his climb to the top of Willunga Hill [pic: Tour Down Under / John Veage ]

While the eight second margin was decisive it wasn;'t enough to secure the race lead after South African Impey dug deep. The handover from overnoight leader Peter Sagan wans't immediate, delayed by a countback of stage places. Calcualtions proved favourable to Impey and an anxious wait could be turnded inot a podium celebration ,

With a final stage in Adelaide on Sunday to decide the overalll win Impey was playing it cautious, “I am feeling confident, barring anything happening," Impey said.

"If Richie wants to have a go for the sprints we have got Caleb, ‘Edmo’ [Edmondson] and myself to try and beat him for the sprints. I think he has his work cut out for him that way.”

Theoretically Porte can still win, that's if he secures maximum time bonuses at the intermediate sprints along the 90km remaining.

“Daryl is quick. He has been second two times in stages here against guys like Sagan,” Porte said. 

“Realistically, I don’t have a chance to move up because if I start going then guys like Caleb Ewan are going to start going in the intermediate sprints too. I am happy with where I am all things considered. 

“I had a tough half end to last year. To be up here and win at Willunga for the fifth time in a row, I would have to say I am happy; but of course I would have loved to win here as well.

“If I was good enough to win I would have won it today on Willunga. Hats off to Daryl. He is a good mate, a fantastic bike rider. I have to be happy with second to be honest.”

Above:Daryl Impey celebrates being awarded the Santos Ochre Leader's Jersey [Pic: Tour Down Under /John Veage]

Video Highlights (courtesy Santos Tour Down Under)

Stage 5 Results

2018 Santos Tour Down Under Route Map

2018 Santos Tour Down Under Route Map


World Tour Teams

AG2R La Mondiale
Ben Gastauer, Mickaël Chérel, Matteo Montaguti, Pierre Latour, Nans Peters, Stijn Vandenbergh, Axel Domont

Astana Pro Team
Luis León Sánchez, Laurens De Vreese, Oscar Gatto, Michael Valgren, Artyom Zakharov, Truls Korsaeth, Riccardo Minali

Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team
Domenico Pozzovivo, Ion Izagirre, Gorka Izagirre, Manuele Boaro, Ramunas Navardauskas, Yukiya Arashiro, Valerio Agnoli

BMC Racing Team
Richie Porte, Tom Bohli, Simon Gerrans, Danilo Wyss, Miles Scotson, Patrick Bevin, Rohan Dennis

BORA – hansgrohe
Peter Sagan, Daniel Oss, Sam Bennett, Maciej Bodnar, Peter Kennaugh, Rüdiger Selig, Jay McCarthy

Dimension Data
Tom-Jelte Slagter, Mark Renshaw, Nickolas Dlamini, Lachlan Morton, Jaco Venter, Ben O’Connor, Scott Davies

Steve Morabito, Antoine Duchesne, Daniel Hoelgaard, Anthony Roux, Georg Preidler, Davide Cimolai, Matthieu Ladagnous

Lotto Soudal
André Greipel, Adam Hansen, Thomas De Gendt, Lars Bak, Marcel Sieberg, Bjorg Lambrecht, Jens Debusschere

Maarten Wynants, Robert Wagner, Enrico Battaglin, Daan Olivier, George Bennett, Tom Leezer, Robert Gesink

Caleb Ewan, Daryl Impey, Alexander Edmondson, Mathew Hayman, Jack Bauer, Damien Howson, Cameron Meyer

Movistar Team
Carlos Barbero, Nuno Bico, Marc Soler, Rubén Fernández, Jaime Castrillo, Nelson Oliveira, Jasha Sütterlin

Quick-Step Floors
Elia Viviani, Eros Capecchi, Dries Devenyns, Fabio Sabatini, Michael Mřrkřv, Florian Sénéchal, Enric Mas

Team EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
Simon Clarke, Brendan Canty, Thomas Scully, Daniel Moreno, Logan Owen, William Clarke, Mitchell Docker

Team Katusha – Alpecin
Nathan Haas, José Gonçalves, Pavel Kochetkov, Jhonatan Restrepo, Maurits Lammertink, Tiago Machado, Mads Würtz Schmidt

Team Sky
Salvatore Puccio, Łukasz Wiśniowski, Arley Egan Bernal, Jonathan Dibben, Owain Doull, Kristoffer Halvorsen, Christopher Lawless

Team Sunweb
Nikias Arndt, Chad Haga, Phil Bauhaus, Mike Teunissen, Chris Hamilton, Michael Storer, Sam Oomen

Trek – Segafredo
Laurent Didier, Fumiyuki Beppu, Koen de Kort, Niklas Eg, Alex Frame, Ruben Guerreiro, Mads Pedersen

UAE-Team Emirates
Rui Costa, Diego Ulissi, Simone Consonni, Manuele Mori, Matteo Bono, Marco Marcato, Roberto Ferrari

ProContinental Teams

Scott Bowden, Zakkari Dempster, Nathan Earle, Alexander Porter, Timothy Roe, Steele Von Hoff, Sam Welsford



Stage 1 - Port Adelaide › Lyndoch

145 km


Stage 2 - Unley › Stirling

149.6 km


Stage 3 - Glenelg › Victor Harbor

146.5 km


Stage 4 - Norwood › Uraidla

128.2 km


Stage 5 - McLaren Vale › Willunga Hill

151.5 km


Stage 6 - Adelaide › Adelaide

90 km

Offical Race Website

Related Articles
20th Santos Tour Down Under - Stage 2
20th Santos Tour Down Under - Stage 3
20th Santos Tour Down Under - Stage 4

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |