Search the news archive:
20th Tour Down Under - Greipel wins Opener
By Mark Sharon
Date: 1/15/2018
20th Tour Down Under - Greipel wins Opener
Untitled Document

January 2, 2018

20th Tour Down Under - Greipel wins Opener

16/1 Stage 1 - Port Adelaide to Lyndoch, 145 km

Andre Greipel (Lotto Soudal) took his tally of stage wins at the TDU to 17 with victory on the opening stage.

The 35 year old German sprinter overpowered Aussie Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton-Scott) in a bunch sprint.

Andre Greipel takes Satge 1 © @tourdownunder

Speaking after the stage Greipel said, "I think it was a nice one. [It was] a pretty fast sprint and I waited as long as possible. Thanks to the tream. They set up the sprint pretty good. Unfortuantely we were alreaady one rider down before the start of the race and we could only wait until the finish."

Greipel was referring to the withdrawl of Belgian neo-pro Bjorg Lambrecht from the start list due to confusion over the anti-doping Whereabouts system. in a press realease on Monday Loto Soudal stated that Lambrrecht and had not received his Whereabouts login system until mid-December, too late to enable him to be in the TDU.

Peter Sagan, winner of the People's Choice Classic on Sunday, placed third. In a tweet he said: "Third place today on stage 1 of @tourdownunder after a very fast sprint finish. I feel in good shape and @BORAhansgrohe will fight every day!"

His chances were not helped whnen Sam Bennett had to stop to fix a mechaniclal problem wihth his chain as the peloton began to wind up for the sprint.

The main action of the day ahead of the sprint starrred South Affrican neo pro Nicholas Dlamini (Dimension Data) and Will Clarke (EF Cannondale-Drapac) in a two man breakaway. The pair initially pulled out alead of 3'45" before it settled back to around two minutes. Dlamini did enough work to secure teh KOM jersey beofre falling back in line at 32kn to go leaving Clarke the last man standing to be reled in with under 10km to go.

Video Highlights (courtesy Santos Tour Down Under)

Stage 1 Results

2018 Santos Tour Down Under Route Map

2018 Santos Tour Down Under Route Map


World Tour Teams

AG2R La Mondiale
Ben Gastauer, Mickaël Chérel, Matteo Montaguti, Pierre Latour, Nans Peters, Stijn Vandenbergh, Axel Domont

Astana Pro Team
Luis León Sánchez, Laurens De Vreese, Oscar Gatto, Michael Valgren, Artyom Zakharov, Truls Korsaeth, Riccardo Minali

Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team
Domenico Pozzovivo, Ion Izagirre, Gorka Izagirre, Manuele Boaro, Ramunas Navardauskas, Yukiya Arashiro, Valerio Agnoli

BMC Racing Team
Richie Porte, Tom Bohli, Simon Gerrans, Danilo Wyss, Miles Scotson, Patrick Bevin, Rohan Dennis

BORA – hansgrohe
Peter Sagan, Daniel Oss, Sam Bennett, Maciej Bodnar, Peter Kennaugh, Rüdiger Selig, Jay McCarthy

Dimension Data
Tom-Jelte Slagter, Mark Renshaw, Nickolas Dlamini, Lachlan Morton, Jaco Venter, Ben O’Connor, Scott Davies

Steve Morabito, Antoine Duchesne, Daniel Hoelgaard, Anthony Roux, Georg Preidler, Davide Cimolai, Matthieu Ladagnous

Lotto Soudal
André Greipel, Adam Hansen, Thomas De Gendt, Lars Bak, Marcel Sieberg, Bjorg Lambrecht, Jens Debusschere

Maarten Wynants, Robert Wagner, Enrico Battaglin, Daan Olivier, George Bennett, Tom Leezer, Robert Gesink

Caleb Ewan, Daryl Impey, Alexander Edmondson, Mathew Hayman, Jack Bauer, Damien Howson, Cameron Meyer

Movistar Team
Carlos Barbero, Nuno Bico, Marc Soler, Rubén Fernández, Jaime Castrillo, Nelson Oliveira, Jasha Sütterlin

Quick-Step Floors
Elia Viviani, Eros Capecchi, Dries Devenyns, Fabio Sabatini, Michael Mřrkřv, Florian Sénéchal, Enric Mas

Team EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
Simon Clarke, Brendan Canty, Thomas Scully, Daniel Moreno, Logan Owen, William Clarke, Mitchell Docker

Team Katusha – Alpecin
Nathan Haas, José Gonçalves, Pavel Kochetkov, Jhonatan Restrepo, Maurits Lammertink, Tiago Machado, Mads Würtz Schmidt

Team Sky
Salvatore Puccio, Łukasz Wiśniowski, Arley Egan Bernal, Jonathan Dibben, Owain Doull, Kristoffer Halvorsen, Christopher Lawless

Team Sunweb
Nikias Arndt, Chad Haga, Phil Bauhaus, Mike Teunissen, Chris Hamilton, Michael Storer, Sam Oomen

Trek – Segafredo
Laurent Didier, Fumiyuki Beppu, Koen de Kort, Niklas Eg, Alex Frame, Ruben Guerreiro, Mads Pedersen

UAE-Team Emirates
Rui Costa, Diego Ulissi, Simone Consonni, Manuele Mori, Matteo Bono, Marco Marcato, Roberto Ferrari

ProContinental Teams

Scott Bowden, Zakkari Dempster, Nathan Earle, Alexander Porter, Timothy Roe, Steele Von Hoff, Sam Welsford



Stage 1 - Port Adelaide › Lyndoch

145 km


Stage 2 - Unley › Stirling

149.6 km


Stage 3 - Glenelg › Victor Harbor

146.5 km


Stage 4 - Norwood › Uraidla

128.2 km


Stage 5 - McLaren Vale › Willunga Hill

151.5 km


Stage 6 - Adelaide › Adelaide

90 km

Offical Race Website

Related Articles
20th Tour Down Under - Route and Start List

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |