Search the news archive:
20th Tour Down Under - Team Line-up grows
By Mark Sharon
Date: 1/2/2018
20th Tour Down Under - Team Line-up grows
Untitled Document

January 2, 2018

20th Tour Down Under - Team Line-up grows

Bahrain Merida and Lotto Jumbo are the fourth and fifth World Tour teams anounced for the Santo Tour Down Under, the first race of the professional season taking place in South Australia

Italian Domenico Pozzovivo and Spaniards Ion and Gorka Izagirre will share the leadership roles at the Tour Down Under

Team Director Tristan Hoffman revealed the ambition was to place all three in the top ten of the general classification.

“We have a really strong line-up, it’s more of a team for general classification, so the main focus will be [on that],” Hoffman said., “Domenico and the Izagirre brothers will share the leadership. Ion has been recovering well after the Tour de France [and] Gorka finished eighth in the GC in 2015.

Pozzovivo, who moved to Bahrain Merida after five uears at AG2R-La Mondiale, has TDU experience finishing seventh on GC in 2016.

Bahrain-Merida start list

Domenico Pozzovivo (Italy)
Ion Izagirre (Spain)
Gorka Izagirre (Spain)
Manuele Boaro (Italy)
Ramunas Navardauskas (Lithuania)
Yukiya Arashiro (Japan)
Valerio Agnoli (Italy)

Gesink to target GC at TDU

Robert Gesink has been recovering form a damaged vertabrae sustained in the 2017 Tour de France and is eager to signal a retunr to form with a strong perfrormance at the Aussie event. He already has top-ten palmares to give him confidence with an eight in 2017 and sixth in 2014.

Team Lotto-NL Jumbo start list

Maarten Wynants (Belgium)
Robert Wagner (Germany)
Enrico Battaglin (Italy)
Daan Oliver (Netherlands)
George Bennett (New Zealand)
Tom Leezer (Netherlands)
Robert Gesink (Netherlands)

The other UCI WorldTour teams in place are BMC Racing Team, AG2R La Mondiale and Team Katusha-Alpecin.

BMC Racing Team roster

Richie Porte (Australia)
Simon Gerrans (Australia)
Rohan Dennis (Australia)
Miles Scotson (Australia)
Patrick Bevin (New Zealand)
Tom Bohli (Switzerland)
Danilo Wyss (Switerland) 

AG2R La Mondiale

Ben Gastauer (Lux)
Mikaël Chérel (Fra)
Mattéo Montaguti (It)
Pierre Roger Latour (Fr)
Nans Peters (Fr)
Stjin Vandenbergh (Bel)
Axel Domont (Fra)

Team Katusha-Alpecin

Nathan Haas (Australia)
José Goncalves (Portugal)
Pavel Kochetkov (Russia)
Maurits Lammertink (Ned)
Tiago Machado (Portugal)
Jhonatan Restrepo Valencia (Colombia)
Mads Würtz Schmidt (Den )



Stage 1 - Port Adelaide › Lyndoch

145 km


Stage 2 - Unley › Stirling

149.6 km


Stage 3 - Glenelg › Victor Harbor

146.5 km


Stage 4 - Norwood › Uraidla

128.2 km


Stage 5 - McLaren Vale › Willunga Hill

151.5 km


Stage 6 - Adelaide › Adelaide

90 km


Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |