Search the news archive:
Tirreno-Adriactico 2017 - Final
By Mark Sharon
Date: 3/14/2017
Tirreno-Adriactico 2017 - Final
Untitled Document

March 12, 2017

Quintana rules from Sea to Sea


Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team) won the 52nd Edition of the Tirreno-Adriatico NamedSport. Second place went to Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team) who won the final stage, a 10km Individual Time Trial in San Benedetto del Tronto,withThibaut Pinot (FDJ) n third.

Peter Sagan Tirreno Adriatico 2017

Quintana in action : Photo RCS

Peter Sagan Tirreno Adriatico 2017

Quintana neptune incarnate : Photo RCS

Overall winner Nairo Quintana said in the press conference: “It was more difficult to win Tirreno-Adriatico two years ago when I had more rivals who were more experienced than I was. Now I’m stronger and smarter, and I had a better team this time around. I won more with my head than with my legs. I expected to finish the week of racing in a better shape than I had at the start and that’s the case. I can pursue my preparation for my goals – the Giro d’Italia and the Tour de France – as I’m happy with my condition. I also have another Tirreno-Adriatico victory under my belt. This is a race I like a lot. It’s impossible to establish a hierarchy of the favourites for the Giro now. Some riders have been in the shadows this week but they’ll be shining in May. The level will be very high so I’ll have to be at 100% for winning."

Stage winner Rohan Dennis said: “This is an important victory for me. I was in the bus when Jos van Emden set the best time. I knew from the Eneco Tour last year that it would be a time of reference. He’s very competitive. He’s always a threat. I know from my performance at the Terminillo that I need to lose two or three kilos to close that minute gap I miss compared to the climbers. I’m probably not going to do that for the coming Giro d’Italia. It’s safer to take a slower step. I give myself four years for winning a Grand Tour.”

1 - Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team)
2 - Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team) at 25''
3 - Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) at 36" 

1 - Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team) 10,050m in 11'18", average speed 53.097kph
2 - Jos van Emden (Team Lotto NL - Jumbo) at 3"
3 - Michael Hepburn (Orica - Scott) at 3"


  • Maglia Azzurra (blue), general classification leader, sponsored by NamedSport - Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team)

  • Maglia Rossa (red), sprinter classification leader, sponsored by FSA - Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe)

  • Maglia Verde (green), King of the Mountains classification leader, sponsored by Snello Rovagnati - Davide Ballerini (Androni Giocattoli)

  • Maglia Bianca (white), young rider general classification leader, sponsored by Selle Italia - Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)

Final Results and GC

Race Route

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |