Search the news archive:
Paris Nice 2017 - Stage 8 (Final)
By Mark Sharon
Date: 3/13/2017
Paris Nice 2017 - Stage 8 (Final)
Untitled Document

March 12, 2017

STAGE 8: Henao wins Paris-Nice 2017 with two seconds to spare

Sergio Henao (Team Sky) came within two seconds of losing the Paris-Nice after Alberto Contador pulled out all the stops to claw back 28 seconds of his deficiit on th final stage of the 2017 Paris Nice.

28 seconds was two too few and for the second year in a row the Spaniard rinding for Trek-Seagfredo had been bested by a Sky rider. Last year's nemesis had been Geraint Thomas this year battling it out at teh Terreno-Adriatico

In fact Sky is being a real thorn in Contodor's side. After winning the Race to the Sun in 2007 and 2010 he has had to endure Sky taking the final victory for five times in six years with four different riders.

Sergio Henao win emulated those of Bradley Wiggins (2012), Richie Porte (2013 and 2015), and Geraint Thomas for the most prestigious win in his career.

The Colombian proved his champion credentials keep his nerve and fighting on after being attacked all day by El Pistolero Contador. He resisted bravely right to the until the finish line.

The stage itself was won by David De La Cruz (Quickstep-Floors), with Contador second clsoe behind and Marc Soller (Movistar) third at five seconds, while on GC the podium was rounded out behind Henao and Contador by Daniel Martin (Quickstep-Floors)

France's Julian Alaphilippe (Quick Step), with the green and white jerseys, and his compatriot Lilian Calmejane (Direct Energie), crowned KOM champion, completed the podium.

David de la Cruz

Richie Portel A.S.O. / Alex Broadway

Henao described his feelings at winning the race, "The team asked me to go into the breakaway and that's what I did. When Alberto joined us I knew he would give everything to get the Yellow Jersey. I managed to hang on and I was able to pass him on the line. It was an incredible week for us, with the results of Julian and Dan, we started this weekend with a lot of ambition and we showed that we were a team that gave everything for victory. "


  1. David DE LA CRUZ (Quick-Step Floors), 115,5 km in 2h4853

  2. Alberto CONTADOR (Trek-Segafredo), st

  3. Marc SOLER (Movistar Team), at 5


  1. Sergio HENAO (Team SKY)

  2. Alberto CONTADOR (Trek-Segafredo) at 2

  3. Dan MARTIN (Quick-Step Floors) at 30

Stage and GC Results in Full after seven stages

Race Route

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |