Search the news archive:
Tirreno-Adriactico 2017 - Stage 4
By Mark Sharon
Date: 3/11/2017
Tirreno-Adriactico 2017 - Stage 4
Untitled Document

March 12, 2017

Quintana soars to solo win on Stage 4

The Colombian rider Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team) has won stage 4 from Monterotondo Marittimo to Montalto di Castro (187km) taking the race lead.

Nairo Quintana soloed to victory on Tirreno-Adriatico's queen stage atop Monte Terminillo replicating his success of two years ago. He made his move with an attack 2km before the summit to finish with a gap that put him in the overall leadership with more than 30" over Adam Yates (Orica-Scott) and 56" over Thibaut Pinot (FDJ).

Peter Sagan Tirreno Adriatico 2017

Quintana solos to stage 42 : Photo RCS

“I wasn't sure of what I could do today as I had been sick a few days ago', said Quintana, "but our tactic was to have someone ahead before I launched my attack and that's what happened with Castroviejo. The advantage I have on GC now is significant. It gives me some confidence ahead of the second half of the race.”

Wearing the Maglia Azzurra of race leader, the Colombian, along with the rest of the peloton will pay tribute to the victims of the earthquake on stage 5 tomorrow in the centre of Italy.

1 - Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team) 187km in 5'27’22”, average speed 34.273kph
2 - Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) at 18"
3 - Adam Yates (Orica - Scott) at 24"

1 - Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team)
2 - Adam Yates (Orica - Scott) at 33"
3 - Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) at 56"

  • Maglia Azzurra (blue), general classification leader, sponsored by NamedSport - Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team)

  • Maglia Rossa (red), sprinter classification leader, sponsored by FSA - Mirco Maestri (Bardiani CSF)

  • Maglia Verde (green), King of the Mountains classification leader, sponsored by Snello Rovagnati - Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team)

  • Maglia Bianca (white), young rider general classification leader, sponsored by Selle Italia - Adam Yates (Orica - Scott)

Stage Four Results and GC

Race Route

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |