Search the news archive:
Tirreno-Adriactico 2017 - Stage 3
By Mark Sharon
Date: 3/10/2017
Tirreno-Adriactico 2017 - Stage 3
Untitled Document

March 8, 2017

Sagan triumphs on Stage 3

Peter Sagan outsprinted Elia Viviani to claim victory at Montalto di Castro after overcoming illness. Rohan Dennis became the third rider from BMC Racing Team to lead Tirreno-Adriatico in three days as he took over from Greg Van Avermaet on GC.

Peter Sagan Tirreno Adriatico 2017

Geraint Thomas shines on Stage 2 : Photo RCS

Speaking just after the finish Peter Sagan said: “Many riders without the legs to sprint came to the front but fortunately, some wind in the last 200 meters eased up things. The season only starts now. I hope this is not the last victory.”

Roham Dennis Tirreno Adriactico 2017

Rohan Dennis leader after stage 3 : Photo RCS

1 - Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) 204km in 4'51'59”, average speed 41.920kph
2 - Elia Viviani (Team Sky) s.t.
3 - Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto Soudal) s.t.

1 - Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team)  
2 - Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team) s.t.
3 - Damiano Caruso (BMC Racing Team) s.t.


  • Maglia Azzurra (blue), general classification leader, sponsored by NamedSport - Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team)

  • Maglia Rossa (red), sprinter classification leader, sponsored by FSA - Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe)

  • Maglia Verde (green), King of the Mountains classification leader, sponsored by Snello Rovagnati - Davide Ballerini (Androni Giocattoli) 

  • Maglia Bianca (white), young rider general classification leader, sponsored by Selle Italia - Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)

Stage Three Results and GC

Stage 4 Preview

Stage 4 – Montalto di Castro - Terminillo, 187km

Start Meeting Point: Piazzale Guglielmi, Montalto di Castro
Sign-on procedures: 09.35 - 10.55
Alignment: 11.00
Start - KM 0: 11.05 (transfer 1,500m)
Finish: Piazzale Campoforogna, Terminillo - 16.15 circa 
Race Headquarters: Palazzo del Turismo, Via dei Villini 33/35, Loc. Pian De' Valli

This is the hardest stage, ending with a summit finish. The route leads through the province of Viterbo, hitting the provincial capital, as well as Tuscania and Vignanello, taking in the first categorised climb in La Colonnetta, on the Monti Cimini. The course then runs apparently flat along the Via Flaminia, through Narni and Terni, then up the Marmore and across the Piana Reatina – including a short climb leading to Castelfranco) – up to Vazia where the last climb begins. The final ascent from Vazia to Mount Terminillo (Campoforogna) is 16.1km long, with an average 7.3% gradient, peaking as high as 12%.

Evans wins Stage 4 of Abu Dhabi 2017l © AbuDhabiTour


Race Route

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |