Search the news archive:
Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Ciclista Del Sol 2017 - Final
By Mark Sharon
Date: 2/20/2017
Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Ciclista Del Sol 2017 - Final
Untitled Document

February 3, 2017

Alejandro Valverde wins the Vuelta a Andalucia with a one second margin over Alberto Contador.

Movistar's Alejandro Valverde has taken the Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Ciclista Del Sol by the narrowest possible margin, one second ahead of a resurgent Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo), with Thibaut Pinto (FDJ) at six seconds.

Valverde takes the overall © Vuelta a Andalucia

Valverde initailly took the lead on the opening stage, 155.4km from Rincón de la Victoria (Málaga) to Granada, but a strong finish saw Contador snatch it back on stage two (177.9km, Torredonjimeno › Alto Peña del Águila, Mancha Real (Jaén)) finishing two seconds behind stage winner Pinot and five seconds ahead of Valverde.

The stage three 12km Individual Time Trial (Lucena to Córdoba) won by Victor Campenaerts (LottoNL-Jumbo), saw Contador falter allowing Valverde back in the frame and the race lead.

Bryan Coquard (Direct Energie) took the sprint at the end of stage four, 179.3km from La Campana to Sevilla). Despite the route loping into the mountains north of Seville the final section culminated in a long run into the finish giving time for the sprinters to orgnaise their offensive.

Tim Wellens takes final stagel © Vuelta a Andalucia

The final throw of the dice on stage five fell to Tim Wellens who led home a six man break, some 1'45" ahead of the peloton. Simon Clarke (Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team) took second place, while Campenaerts rounded out the podium.

Valverde and Contador settled for safety arriving deep in the chasing pack.

Final Results in Full



Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |