Search the news archive:
By Mark Sharon
Date: 10/29/2016
Untitled Document

October 31, 2016


In his forst race following his second World Championships victory Peter Sagan captured the Tour de France Saitama Criterium.

The Slovak waited for the penultimate of 19 laps of the Saitama circuit to launch an attack before powering away from an elite lead group featuring Chris Froome, Adam Yates and the Japanese national champion, Sho Hatsuyuma. After a season full of highs including wins in the Tour of Flanders and Tour de France stage victories, Sagan carved a new entry in his palmarès in Japan. On the Tour de France honours board, his green jersey was claimed by Marcel Kittel, while Romain Bardet snared the mountains jersey.

Sagan wins in Japan © ASO/B.Bade

"It was a very fast start," said Sagan. "A breakaway got caught, another one started. Eventually the race became a bit more quiet so I waited for three or four laps to go to make my move because I knew I'd suffer too much if I bridged the gap on all the attackers. We rode strongly at the end. I was the fastest of the four so it went well for me."

Best Of - Saitama Criterium 2016 by tourdefrance

Hinault's Final Bow

Bernard Hinault took the podium for his final duty as Tour de France ambassador to applause and acclaim from the current crop of professionals at the event. "It would just be a dream to achieve what he achieved," admitted Chris Froome, in the knowledge that that particular summit was inaccessible. "He's a living legend – images of his wins were everywhere as I was growing up," said an admiring Romain Bardet, who nonetheless didn't ride his first bike until a decade after Hinault's last Tour win in 1985.


1 Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff Team 1:22:02
2 Sho Hatsuyuma (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling Team  
3 Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky  
4 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-BikeExchange 0:00:05
5 Marcel Kittel (Ger) Etixx - Quick-Step 0:00:12
6 Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
7 Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) Trek-Segafredo  
8 Shimpei Fukuda (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team  
9 Zico Waeytens (Bel) Team Giant-Alpecin  
10 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
11 Koen De Kort (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin  
12 Takeaki Ayabe (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team  
13 Hayato Okamoto (Jpn) Japan  
14 Daisuke Kaneko (Jpn) Matrix Powertag  
15 Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Etixx - Quick-Step  
16 Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
17 Eiya Hashimoto (Jpn) Japan  
18 Kazuki Kobayashi (Jpn) Japan  
19 Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff Team  
20 Hideto Nakane (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team  
21 Georg Preidler (Aut) Team Giant-Alpecin 0:00:18
22 Ryohei Komori (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team  
23 Julien Vermote (Bel) Etixx - Quick-Step  
24 Mikaël Cherel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
25 Yuya Amikaru (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team  
26 Wouter Poels (Ned) Team Sky  
27 Ian Boswell (USA) Team Sky  
28 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica-BikeExchange  
29 Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Giant-Alpecin  
30 Michael Kolar (Svk) Tinkoff Team  
31 Pawel Poljanski (Pol) Tinkoff Team  
32 Petr Vakoc (Cze) Etixx - Quick-Step  
33 Christopher Juul Jensen (Den) Orica-BikeExchange  
34 Christian Meier (Can) Orica-BikeExchange  
35 Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Lampre - Merida  
36 Kohei Uchima (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling Team  
37 Michal Golas (Pol) Team Sky  
38 Ryu Suzuki (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling Team  
39 Yuri Kobashi (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team  
40 Yuma Koishi (Jpn) Nippo - Vini Fantini  
41 Ryota Nishizono (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling Team  
42 Taisei Kobayashi (Jpn) Japan  
43 Kazushige Kuboki (Jpn) Nippo - Vini Fantini  
44 Manabu Shibashi (Jpn) Nippo - Vini Fantini  
45 Marino Kobayashi (Jpn) Nippo - Vini Fantini  
46 Shigetomo Nakanishi (Jpn) Korail Cycling Team  
47 Keisuke Kimura (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team  
48 Kosuke Aso (Jpn) Korail Cycling Team  
49 Kenji Itami (Jpn) Korail Cycling Team  
50 Satoshi Nakagawa (Jpn) Matrix Powertag  
DNF Ryosuke Hashimoto (Jpn) Matrix Powertag  


Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |