Search the news archive:
100th Tour de France - Final
By Mark Sharon
Date: 7/21/2013
100th Tour de France - Final
2013 Daily Peloton

Paris, 21 July 2013 - Stage 21: Versailles to Paris Champs-Élysées, 133.5km.

Chris Froome wins the Tour de France to become the first Kenyan-born rider to take the crown.

Marcel Kittel breaks Mark Cavendish streak of wins, outsprinting Cavendish and Andre Greipel to win the ultimate sprinter's stage

The 100th Tour de France ended with a sprint out between the three best sprinters in the world Marcel Kittel, Andre Greipel and Mark Cavendish with Marcel Kittel proving the strongest. Chris Froome finished with his team to claim the overall.


Le Tour de France 2013

Chris Froome celebrqtes victory© Dana Gardner

The top five of the final stage of the 2013 Tour de France is:

1. Marcel Kittel (GER) ARG
2. André Greipel (GER) LTB
3. Mark Cavendish (GBR) OPQ
4. Peter Sagan (SLO) CAN
5. Roberto Ferrari (ITA) LAM

Despite long attacks by Juan Antonio Flecha (Vacansoleil) and David Millar (garmin-Sharp), and then after they were caught, Alejandro Valverde (Movistar), Bram Tankink (Belkin) and Manuel Quinziato (BMC), the peloton produced the inevitable magic and never let the breaks get more than 30" lead.

The key jersey competitions stayed safely with their overnight wearers, Nairo Quintana (white and polka dot) and Peter Sagan (Points)

Coming under the flamme rouge with 1km to each sprinter team had their key men embedded in their respective lead-out trains, particularly Omega Pharma Quickstep, Argos Shimano and Lotto Belisol. Even Saxo Tinkoff had a presence with Alberto Contandor leading for Benatti. As the peloton rounded the final corner off the Place de la Concorde and onto the Champs-Élysées for the last tme it was rapidly down to three men. Kittel was rocketing and never looked like being passed by either Greipel or Cavendish. It is Kittel's fourth win including the first stage back in Corsica.

Chris Froome, "Brought tears to my eyes comin over the line. I expected it to be big but this was something else. Speechless. I have prepared some words for the big speech. This was an amazing way to finish off."

On doping questions, "In away I am glad have had to face those questions, basically with the tarnished history over the last ten years. It has all been channeled to me duirng the tour and I hope I have handled it well. I know the peloton is standing together over this [doping]".

The final top 10 of the general classification Chris Froome last a big chunk of time to Nairo Quintana in the rush to the finish in Paris but the Sky leader is the winner of the 100th Tour de France. The top 10 after 21 stages of the 2013 race is:

1. Chris Froome (GBR) SKY
2. Nairo Quintana (COL) MOV at 4'20"
3. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP) KAT at 5'04"
4. Alberto Contador (ESP) TST at 6'27"
5. Roman Kreuziger (CZE) TST at 7'27"
6. Bauke Mollema (NED) BEL at 11'42"
7. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN) AST at 12'17"
8. Alejandro Valverde (ESP) MOV at 15'26"
9. Daniel Navarro (ESP) COF at 15'32"
10. Andrew Talansky (USA) GRS at 17'39"

Sky lost some time on the final stage after hanging back behind the peloton to cross the line together, meaning Froome finished 4'20 ahead of Nairo Quintana.

Richie Porte, "We are not doing the victory alp this year so we decided to hang back and come across together. Every one want to kick sky down. We lost two strong guys but we still won the Tour de France"

Geraint Thomas, "I thought I had recovered form it, but i ham prtetty sore now. It was such a hard day, all the hanging around. I thought it would get bette but it is pretty bad now."

Maillot Jaune: Chris Froome (Sky Pro Cycling)
Point Competition: Peter Sagan (Cannondale)
Team Prize : Saxo Tinkoff
The most combative: Christophe Riblon(Ag2R)
Best Mountain Climber (Polka Dot Jersey): Nairo Quintana (Movistar)
Best Young rider, under 25 years old (White Jersey) - Nairo Quintana

Race Route for 2013

Le Tour de France 2013

Race Route © ASO


2013 Le Tour de France Official Website

Stage Results - Full


Overall standings - Top 60


Twitter Button from

Support the Daily Peloton

Celebrating our 12th year!

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |