Search the news archive:
Tour Series Round One Results
By Mark Sharon
Date: 5/14/2013
Tour Series Round One Results
2013 Daily Peloton

Pearl Izumi Tour Series 2013

Fife 14 May 2013: Team Raleigh take control after Round One Pearl Izumi Tour Series in Kirkcaldy, Yanto Barker takes the win for UK Youth.

Team Raleigh took the team win at the opening round of The Pearl Izumi Tour Series in Kirkcaldy, Fife, taking the lead of Britain’s unique team based Series. The Nottingham team filled three of the top six spots on the night to pull on the new red Pearl Izumi Tour Series leaders’ jerseys, sealing victory ahead of Team UK Youth and Rapha Condor JLT.

Yanto Barker Tour Series

Round One Team Winners © Tour Series

Yanto Barker (UK Youth) took the individual victory, his first in the Series, beating Kiwi duo Tom Scully and Mike Northey, with whom he had spent the latter half of the race in a leading break.

Yanto Barker Tour Series

Yanto Barker Winning in Fife © Tour Series

The trio, plus Felix English, were at the forefront in a fast paced, action packed race that saw the peloton strung out right from the flag. Alexandre Blain and Roman Van Uden took the honours at the opening two IG Sprints, before the break made their move, going clear ahead of the third and final IG Sprint.  Node4 Giordana Racing’s Northey followed Scully home in the last IG Sprint to secure the points to claim the IG Sprints Jersey.

English was tailed off in the closing laps, suffering from cramp, leaving the leading three riders to fight it out for the win.  Barker proved the strongest, heading Scully and Northey with enough time in hand to sit up and celebrate his first ever individual win in The Pearl Izumi Tour Series.

Blain and Richard Lang took the bunch kick for fifth and sixth places to give Team Raleigh their second ever round win in the Series and the first victory of the 2013 edition. Behind Chris Opie’s 8th and Marcin Bialoblocki’s 14th gave Team UK Youth second, while James McCallum and Ed Clancy’s top twelve placing’s gave Rapha Condor JLT third on the night.

Round Two of the Series takes place in Durham on Thursday 16th May.

Round One Kirkcaldy, Team Result

1) Team Raleigh
2) Team UK Youth
3) Rapha Condor JLT
4) Node4 Giordana Racing
5) Madison Genesis
6) Metaltek - Knights of Old
7) MG Maxifuel
8) Team IG Sigma Sport
9) Team Hope Factory Racing
10) Spin Rotor - Primal - C-Originals


About The Pearl Izumi Tour Series

2013 will be the fifth season of The Pearl Izumi Tour Series, a unique team based, televised city centre cycling series organised by SweetSpot Group Ltd, the company behind the organisation and promotion of The Tour of Britain.  The Pearl Izumi Tour Series brings together the very best in British professional teams and riders, competing on town and city-centre circuits in front of packed crowds as a part of a full day of cycling activities.

The Pearl Izumi Tour Series 2013

Round One

Tuesday 14th  May

Kirkcaldy, Fife - complete

Round Two

Thursday 16th May

Durham, County Durham

Round Three

 Tuesday 21st May

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire

Round Four

 Friday 24th May

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion

Round Five

Tuesday 28th May

Torquay, Devon

Round Six

 Thursday 30th May

Colchester, Essex

Round Seven

Tuesday 4th June

Redditch, Worcestershire

Round Eigh

t Thursday 6th June

Canary Wharf, London

Round Nine

 Tuesday 11th June

Woking, Surrey

Round Ten

 Thursday 13th June

Aylsham, Norfolk

Round Eleven

 Friday 14th June

Ipswich, Suffolk


Race Route © Photographer


You can follow The Pearl Izumi Tour Series on Twitter @TourSeries or Facebook or via the official website at


Twitter Button from

Support the Daily Peloton

Celebrating our 12th year!

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |