Search the news archive:
2013 Tirreno-Adriatico - Nibali takes his second win
By Mark Sharon
Date: 3/12/2013
2013 Tirreno-Adriatico - Nibali takes his second win
2013 Tirreno-Adriatico

2013 Tirreno-Adriatico

Mar 12, Stage Seven: San Benedetto del Tronto: 9,2 km Individual Timetrial

Tony Martin (OPQS) takes stage, Vicenzo Nibali (Astana) stays top to win overall

World Time-trial Champion Tony Martin made quick work of a short course, covering the 9.2km at an average speed of 53km/h to finish in 10'25", 6 seconds ahead of Adraino Malori (Lampre-Merida), with Andrey Amador in third.

Vicenzo Nibali had 34 seconds in hand over Chris Froome (SKY) and managed to sacrifice just 10 seconds with a composed display to ensure he won a second straight Tirreno Adriatico.

Speaking after the stage Nibali, who won last year, described his feelings, "I am very very happy. It is something really important to win and of course it is my first win of the season. This is more important than last year, because of all the riders who came, [Joaquin] Rodriguez, Froome, Contador."

Despite it's shortness the final stage managed a painful shuffle of the GC with Alberto Contador (Saxo Tinkoff) leaping onto the podium's third spot behind Froome, while its previous incumbant Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) tumbled down to fifth behind Michal Kwiatkowsk (OPQS). The tightness of the result, the three men were all within two seconds of each other, wil have left at least two thinking 'if only'.

Stage Results - Top 12

1 Tony Martin (Ger) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 0:10:25
2 Adriano Malori (Ita) Lampre-Merida 0:10:31
3 Andrey Amador Bakkazakova (CRc) Movistar Team 0:10:35
4 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) RadioShack Leopard 0:10:37
5 Jonathan Castroviejo Nicolas (Spa) Movistar Team 0:10:39
6 Christopher Froome (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:10:40
7 Hayden Roulston (NZl) RadioShack Leopard 0:10:45
8 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 0:10:46
9 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Sky Procycling 0:10:48
10 Alex Dowsett (GBr) Movistar Team
11 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Argos-Shimano 0:10:49
12 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:10:51


1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 28:08:17
2 Christopher Froome (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:00:23
3 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Team Saxo-Tinkoff 0:00:52
4 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 0:00:53
5 Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha 0:00:54
6 Christopher Horner (USA) RadioShack Leopard 0:01:21
7 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia 0:02:03
8 Andrey Amador Bakkazakova (CRc) Movistar Team 0:02:42
9 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-Merida 0:03:19
10 Wout Poels (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team 0:03:35

Stage 5 Results - Top 5

1 Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP) Katusha 6:06:43
2 Bauke Mollema (NED) Blanco Cycling - +8
3 Alberto Contador (ESP) Team Saxo-Tinkoff - +8
4 Mauro Santambrogio (ITA) Farnese Vini +8
5 Chris Horner (USA) RadioShack - Leopard +8
6 Chris Froome (GBR) Team Sky +8

Race Route for 2013

Le Tour de Langkawi 2012

Tirreno Adriatico Gazetta dello Sport


2013 Tirreno-Adriatico Official Website


Twitter Button from

Support the Daily Peloton

Celebrating our 12th year!

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |