Search the news archive:
Paris-Nice - Albasini wins first of two for ORICA GreenEDGE
By Mark Sharon
Date: 3/7/2013
Paris-Nice - Albasini wins first of two for ORICA GreenEDGE
Paris Nice 2013

2013 Paris-Nice

Mar 7: Paris-Nice, Stage 4: Brioude - Saint-Vallier 199.5km

Swiss rouleur Michael Albansini gave ORICA GreenEdge the first of two wins on the day taking stage 4. His teammate Matt Goss followed up with the stage win at the Tirreno Adriatico a short time later.

Michael Albasini

Alabsini wins stage 4© Graham Watson/ORICA GreenEDGE

Albasini was part of a small group that remained after contesting the last of the stage's seven hills. The Swiss all-rounder perfectly timed his acceleration to take his 25th professional victory.

“I actually wasn’t sure of my condition when I came here,” admitted Albasini. “I was feeling good, but we couldn’t race Lugano and my last race before that was three weeks ago last Wednesday. Without racing, it’s hard to understand what’s going on with your body. I’m super happy to start the season with an early, important win. I’m a bit surprised, too. It’s even nicer to win on a day when we also won with [Matt] Goss in Tirreno,” Albasini added. “It’s really perfect. It’s important to keep the wins going like we did last year.”

A frenzied first hour of racing eventually saw the formation of a seven rider breakaway. Michael Morkov (Saxo-Tinkoff), Thomas Voeckler (Europcar), Johann Tschopp (IAM), Warren Bargueil (Argos-Shimano), Romain Sicard (Euskaltel-Euskadi), Hubert Dupont (Ag2r-La Mondiale) and Gianni Meersman (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) solidified their advantage after the first two of seven categorised climbs. With the day’s break established, Garmin-Sharp assumed responsibility for setting tempo at the front of the bunch.

With assistance from BMC, Omega Pharma-QuickStep and Astana, the field reeled in the breakaway riders ahead of the last ascent. BMC put pressure on the pack, and the injection of speed caused splits in the peloton up the climb, leaving a 30-rider front group as the race entered its final descent.

“At the end, there was a roundabout 500 metres or so from the finish,” explained Albasini, “There were two guys about 50 metres ahead at the point. They started sprinting, and I knew I had to go. If I didn’t, it would have been too late. I opened my sprint and went full gas. Once I overtook them, I was able to maintain control all the way to the line.
“It was a long sprint but it worked out in the end.”

Andrew Talansky retained his lead with scantiest of margins, 3 seconds from Andriy Grivko (Astana).

Stage 3 Results - Top 15

1 Michael Albasini (Swi) Orica GreenEdge 4:55:41
2 Maxim Iglinskiy (Kaz) Astana Pro Team  
3 Peter Velits (Svk) Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling Team  
4 Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Astana Pro Team  
5 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
6 Andrew Talansky (USA) Garmin Sharp  
7 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
8 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica GreenEdge  
9 Andreas Klöden (Ger) RadioShack Leopard  
10 Xavier Florencio Cabre (Spa) Team Katusha  
11 Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) FDJ  
12 Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team  
13 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Blanco  
14 Alberto Losada Alguacil (Spa) Team Katusha  
15 Nicolas Roche (Irl) Team Saxo-Tinkoff  


General Classification - After Stage 4 - Top 30

1 Andrew Talansky (USA) Garmin Sharp 19:35:17  
2 Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana Pro Team 0:00:03  
3 Peter Velits (Svk) Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling Team 0:00:04  
4 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling Team    
5 Gorka Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:00:05  
6 Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team 0:00:06  
7 Richie Porte (Aus) Sky Procycling 0:00:07  
8 Maxim Iglinskiy (Kaz) Astana Pro Team 0:00:13  
9 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    
10 Bart De Clercq (Bel) Lotto Belisol 0:00:15  
11 Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Astana Pro Team    
12 Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:00:16  
13 Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) RadioShack Leopard    
14 Alberto Losada Alguacil (Spa) Team Katusha    
15 Nicolas Roche (Irl) Team Saxo-Tinkoff 0:00:17  
16 Andreas Klöden (Ger) RadioShack Leopard    
17 Simon Spilak (Slo) Team Katusha    
18 Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) FDJ 0:00:18  
19 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida    
20 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-Merida    
21 Thomas Lövkvist (Swe) IAM Cycling 0:00:19  
22 Daniel Navarro Garcia (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:00:26  
23 Davide Malacarne (Ita) Team Europcar 0:00:58  
24 Michael Albasini (Swi) Orica GreenEdge 0:01:01  
25 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Blanco 0:01:05  
26 Robert Gesink (Ned) Team Blanco 0:01:09  
27 Nicki Sörensen (Den) Team Saxo-Tinkoff 0:01:11  
28 Xavier Florencio Cabre (Spa) Team Katusha    
29 Jerome Coppel (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:01:16  
30 Denis Menchov (Rus) Team Katusha 0:01:18  



Race Route for 2013

Paris Nice 2013

2013 Paris Nice route© ASO 2013


2013 Paris Nice Official Website


Twitter Button from

Support the Daily Peloton

Celebrating our 12th year!

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |