Search the news archive:
2013 Le Tour de Langkawi - Coquard makes it two from two
By Mark Sharon
Date: 3/1/2013
2013 Le Tour de Langkawi - Coquard makes it two from two

2013 Le Tour de langkawi

LE TOUR DE LANGKAWI 2013 - Stages 8 and 9.

Mar 1: With one stage left race leader Julian David Arredondo has a full 1'15" over Pieter Weening in the quest to secure his first win at Le Tour de Langkawi Sergion Pardilla of of MTN Qhubeka lies at 2'10" in third with Peter Steina 22" adrfitin fourth. Frenchman Bryan Coquard (Europcar) dominated the sprint to take both stage 8 and stage 9 wins.

Tom Leezer Tour de Langkawi 2013

Stage 9 Podium - Wang, Arredondo, Guardini: Le Tour de Langkawi

Stage 10 of LTdL 2013 on Saturday involves a 114.8km route from Tasik Kenyir to Kuala Terengganu with three intermediate sprints, one at Padang Air and two more across the finish line as the peloton does two loops around Kuala Terengganu before the finish.

Stage 8 - Kuala Terengganu - Tanah Merah, Thursday

Olympic Medallist Bryan Coquard, who took Omnium silver at London2012, shook off the challenge of Omega Pharma-Quickstep's Andrew Fenn and Stage 4 winner Francesco Chicchi to add to his debut season palmares with an emphatic win. The 20-year old had already won two two stages in the Etoile de Besseges before coming to LTdL.

He had aleready kocked on the door of victory once with second place behind Theo Bos on stage 1 and looked certain to turn in the result when he a mistake saw him finish a disappoinitng eighth in Stage 7 in Dungun the day before.

"Yesterday I wasn't able to sprint well at the final moment but today I worked hard and was lucky to win this stage. My performance is at a good level and I was ready to take another chance today," said Coquard. "In the final kilometre I was in a good position, in 10th or 11th and I took the chance in the final 200 metres to start my sprint from the right and overtake the riders at the front."

Stage 8 results - Top 10

1 Bryan Coquard (Fra) Team Europcar 3:36:47
2 Andrew Fenn (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quickstep
3 Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Vini Fantini - Selle Italia
4 Andrea Guardini (Ita) Astana Pro Team
5 Rico Rogers (NZl) Synergy - Baku Cycling Project
6 Omar Bertazzo (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela
7 Raymond Kreder (Ned) Garmin - Sharp
8 Hossein Nateghi (IRI) Tabriz Petrochemical Team
9 Anuar Manan (Mas) Synergy - Baku Cycling Project
10 Jani Tewelde Weldegabir (Eri) MTN Qhubeka

Bryan Coquard Tour de Langkawi 2013

Bryan Coquard flexes his muscles: Le Tour de Langkawi

Stage 9 - Pasir Puteh - Kuala Berang, Friday. Coquard had to ride just 123km (76.86 miles), though at average speed of 45.73kph (28.43mph), to secure a second win. Francesco Chicchi held off Orica-GreenEdge's Allan Davis for second spot.

"To achieve my first win in this race [yesterday], especially with such a strong field was difficult. But when I found my rhythm, it became easier and today's win has made me very happy," said Coquard. "My lead-out man Kevin Reza managed to put me on the wheel of Davis with 300m to go, when Greame Brown (Blanco) was in front. After that I found space and managed to sprint to overtake them and all the way to the finish. As you can see it is very competitive. Each day the top finishers are not the same ones, so the field has many strong sprinters. But today my team managed to do again what they did yesterday and we won again," added Coquard, winner of the silver medal in the Omnium at the Olympic Games in London last year.

Winner of Stage 4, Chicchi had to settle for runner-up when his team's tactical plans went astray after his leadout man Michele Merlo was involved in a crash in the final kilometre.

"Merlo had an accident and I had to sprint on my own and I started my sprint in around 25th position, but it was too late because at that point Coquard was too far ahead," said Chicchi, the 2002 under-23 world champion.

Tour de Langkawi 2013

Coquard makes it two on the trot: Le Tour de Langkawi

Tour de Langkawi 2013

Peloton in full flow Le Tour de Langkawi

Result - top 3

1 Bryan Coquard (Fra) Team Europcar
2 Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Vini Fantini - Selle Italia
3 Allan Davis (Aus) Orica Greenedge

General Classification after Stage 9 - top 10

1. Julian Arredondo (Col) Team Nippo-De Rosa
2. Pieter Weening (Ned) Orica-GreenEdge @ 115
3. Sergio Pardilla (Spa) MTN-Qhubeka @ 210
4. Peter Stetina (USA) Garmin-Sharp @ 232
5. Wang Meiyin (Chn) Hengxiang Cycling Team @ 240
6. Nathan Haas (Aus) Garmin-Sharp @ 248
7. Fortunato Baliani (Ita) Team Nippo-De Rosa @ 249
8. John Ebsen (Den) Synergy-Baku Cycling Project @ 255
9. Tsgabu Grmay (Eth) MTN-Qhubeka @ 258
10. Amir Kolahdozhagh (Iri) Tabriz Petrochemical Team

The full team line-up is:


Pro Tour

Garmin Sharp (GRS) - USA


Astana Pro Team (AST) - KAZ


Orica GreenEdge (OGE) - AUS


Blanco Pro Cycling Team (BLA) - NED


Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team (OPQ) - BEL



Vini Fantini (VIN) - GBR


Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team (UHC) - USA


Champion System Pro Cycling Team (CSS) - CHN


Team Europcar (EUC) - FRA


Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela (AND) - ITA


MTN - Qhubeka (MTN) - RSA



Tabriz Petrochemical Team (TPT) - IRI


RTS Racing Team (RTS) - TPE


Terengganu Cycling Team (TSG) - MAS


OCBC Singapore Continental Cycling Team (TSI) - SIN


Team Nippo (PPO) - JPN


Aisan Racing Team (AIS) - JPN




Hengxiang Cycling Team (HEN) - CHN


Synergy - Baku Cycling Project



Malaysia National Cycling Federation


Indonesia National Team

Race Route for 2013

Le Tour de Langkawi 2012

2013 Tour de Langkawi Route LTDL2013

22 teams, including UCI Pro Teams Astana and Garmin-Sharp, have confirmed participation in the race.

LE TOUR DE LANGKAWI 2013 ROUTE 20/02/13 - 2/3/2013:

Stage 1 Thursday 21 February 2013 : Kangar Kulim (163.7 Km)
Stage 2 Friday 22 February 2013 : Serdang Kuala Kangsar (116.0 Km)
Stage 3 Saturday 23 February 2013 : Sungai Siput Cameron Highlands (145.5 Km)
Stage 4 - Sunday 24 February 2013 : Tapah Kapar (168.0 Km)
Stage 5 Monday 25 February 2013 : Proton Genting (108.0 Km)
Stage 6 Tuesday 26 February 2013 : Mentakab Kuantan (212.8 Km)
Stage 7 - Wednesday 27 February 2013 : Kuantan Dungun (149.8 Km)
Stage 8 Thursday 28 February 2013 : Kuala Terengganu Tanah Merah (164.5 Km)
Stage 9 Friday 1 March 2013 : Pasir Puteh Kuala Berang (123.6 Km)
Stage 10 Saturday 2 March 2013 : Tasik Kenyir Kuala Terengganu (114.8 Km)



2013 Tour de langkawi Official Website


Twitter Button from

Support the Daily Peloton

Celebrating our 12th year!

Related Articles
2013 Le Tour de Langkawi - Arredondo leads after solo win
2013 Le Tour de Langkawi - Arredondo leads, Guardini wins

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |