Search the news archive:
2013 Le Tour de Langkawi - ready, steady...
By Mark Sharon
Date: 2/3/2013
2013 Le Tour de Langkawi - ready, steady...

2013 Le Tour de langkawi

LE TOUR DE LANGKAWI 2013 - Ready, Steady...

The 2013 edition of the Tour de Langkawi is nearing the completion with the announcement this week that the Terenggenu state government will sponosr the race leader's yellow jersey. It is welcome news with less than three weeks to go before the race starts on the island of Langkawi.

Menteri Besar (Great Minister) of Terenggenu Dato' Seri Ahmad Said described the significance of the sponsorship,"The yellow jersey this time will feature the Visit Terengganu Year 2013 theme prominently and this provides immense branding for the state. This is why the state government has decided to capitalize on this opportunity to promote the state via LTdL, which is recognised as a major international cycling event,"

The full roster of 22 have now been signed up for the 18th edition. The line-up include five pro-tour teams.“The fight for the yellow jersey is more open than ever, said LTdL chief operating officer Emir Abdul Jalal. “Looking at the provisional start list, I can see the names of more than twenty potential winners coming from all five continents.”

Terenggenau Tour de Langkawi 2013

Terengganu announces yellow jersey sponsorship: Photo © LTDL2013

Alongside the yellow jersey, Terengganu hosts the final three stages of the race in Terengganu and will be hoping for a dramatic ending.. Although two previous overall winners will be on the start line the race for the overall honours is wide open. At 38 2004 winner Colombian Freddy Gonzalez is almost certainly out of contention while Venezuelan Yonathan Monsalve has not won a race since his triumph on Dataran Merdeka in Kuala Lumpur two years ago. Many will be looking for some competitive performances from the pro-tour teams.

New comers to LTdL will be the former Rabobank team renamed Blanco, Omega Pharma-Quick Step and Orica-GreenEdge while Garmin-Sharp and Astana will return for the second year in a row. “Their second enrolment back to back is meaningful to us”, said Emir Abdul Jalal. “It clearly shows that they’ve appreciated the quality of our organization. They have reiterated their long-term commitment to LTdL.”

Tour de Langkawi 2013

Peloton altogether in 2012 : Photo © LTDL2013

The full team line-up is:


Pro Tour

Garmin Sharp (GRS) - USA


Astana Pro Team (AST) - KAZ


Orica GreenEdge (OGE) - AUS


Blanco Pro Cycling Team (BLA) - NED


Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team (OPQ) - BEL





Vini Fantini (VIN) - GBR


Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team (UHC) - USA


Champion System Pro Cycling Team (CSS) - CHN


Team Europcar (EUC) - FRA


Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela (AND) - ITA


MTN - Qhubeka (MTN) - RSA





Tabriz Petrochemical Team (TPT) - IRI


RTS Racing Team (RTS) - TPE


Terengganu Cycling Team (TSG) - MAS


OCBC Singapore Continental Cycling Team (TSI) - SIN


Team Nippo (PPO) - JPN


Aisan Racing Team (AIS) - JPN




Hengxiang Cycling Team (HEN) - CHN


Synergy - Baku Cycling Project





Malaysia National Cycling Federation


Indonesia National Team


Race Route for 2013

Le Tour de Langkawi 2012

2013 Tour de Langkawi Route © LTDL2013

22 teams, including UCI Pro Teams Astana and Garmin-Sharp, have confirmed participation in the race.

LE TOUR DE LANGKAWI 2013 ROUTE 20/02/13 - 2/3/2013:

Stage 1 – Thursday 21 February 2013 : Kangar – Kulim (163.7 Km)
Stage 2 – Friday 22 February 2013 : Serdang – Kuala Kangsar (116.0 Km)
Stage 3 – Saturday 23 February 2013 : Sungai Siput – Cameron Highlands (145.5 Km)
Stage 4 - Sunday 24 February 2013 : Tapah – Kapar (168.0 Km)
Stage 5 – Monday 25 February 2013 : Proton – Genting (108.0 Km)
Stage 6 – Tuesday 26 February 2013 : Mentakab – Kuantan (212.8 Km)
Stage 7  - Wednesday 27 February 2013 : Kuantan – Dungun (149.8 Km)
Stage 8 – Thursday 28 February 2013 : Kuala Terengganu – Tanah Merah (164.5 Km)
Stage 9 – Friday 1 March 2013 : Pasir Puteh – Kuala Berang (123.6 Km)
Stage 10 – Saturday 2 March 2013 : Tasik Kenyir – Kuala Terengganu (114.8 Km)



2013 Tour de langkawi Official Website

Twitter Button from

Support the Daily Peloton

Celebrating our 12th year!

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |