Search the news archive:
2013 Ladies Tour of Qatar - Stage 1
By Bart Hazen
Date: 1/29/2013
2013 Ladies Tour of Qatar - Stage 1

2013 Ladies Tour of Qatar - Stage 1
Chloe Hosking (Hitec Products) opens 2013 Ladies Tour of Qatar. Australian sprinter best in small break. Compatriot and National Champion Gracie Elvin and Lisa Brennauer got second and third.

Chloe Hosking (Hitec Products) has won the first stage in the 2013 Ladies Tour of Qatar. The Australian, taking her first win for her new team Hitec Products, was the fastest of a four-rider breakaway. In a closer two-up sprint Hosking outsprinted Australian National Champion Gracie Elvin. Lisa Brennauer and Liesbet de Vocht finished in third and fourth. The breakaway escaped from a shattered peloton in the final ten kilometers of the 97 km stage between Doha (Museum of Islamic Art) and Mesaieed. Marta Tagliaferro won the sprint of the first chasing group from Kirsten Wild to finish fifth 10 seconds down on Hosking.

In the first 50 km of the stage the group remained together. Kirsten Wild (Argos-Shimano) won the first intermediate sprint ahead of Rochelle Gilmore (Wiggle Honda) and Marta Tagliaferro (MCipollini). A few kilometers ahead the peloton fell apart in multiple groups due to the works of the Orica-AIS and Specialized-Lululemon team. Orica-AIS rider Emma Johansson won the second sprint ahead of Chloe Hosking and Tiffany Cromwell.

With 25 km to go the first group contained 20 riders; Rochelle Gilmore (Wiggle Honda), Lauren Kitchen (Wiggle Honda), Ellen van Dijk (Specialized-Lululemon), Kirsten Wild (Argos-Shimano), Chloe Hosking (Hitec Products), Marta Tagliaferro (MCipollini), Shelley Olds (Team TIBCO), Liesbet de Vocht (Rabobank), Elisa Longo Borghini (Hitec Products), Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS), Valentina Scandolara (MCipollini), Trixi Worrack (Specialized-Lululemon), Lisa Brennauer (Specialized-Lululemon), Stephanie Pohl (German National Team), Gracie Elvin (Orica-AIS), Tiffany Cromwell (Orica-AIS), Amy Pieters (Argos-Shimano), Simona Frapporti (BePink), Katie Colclough (Specialized-Lululemon) and Joanne Kiesanowski (Team TIBCO). The 20 quickly gained a lead of one minute on the second bunch containing former World Champion Giorgia Bronzini (Wiggle Honda) who missed the break.

With 10 km to go Chloe Hosking, Lisa Brennauer, Gracie Elvin and Liesbet de Vocht broke clear from the large break. The four quickly gained a maximum lead of 45 seconds with 5 km to go but the gap started to come down afterwards due to the hard work of Amy Pieters and Lauren Kitchen. The group came close to ten seconds but it was Chloe Hosking who outsprinted Gracie Elvin to take the first UCI win of the season.

Result stage 1
1. Chloe Hosking (Aus) Hitec Products
2. Gracie Elvin (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge
3. Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Specialized-lululemon
4. Liesbet De Vocht (Bel) Rabobank-Liv Giant
5. Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) Cipollini-Giordana
6. Kirsten Wild (Ned) Argos-Shimano
7. Simona Frapporti (Ita) Be Pink
8. Shelley Olds (USA) Team Tibco-To The Top
9. Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica-GreenEdge
10. Ellen van Dijk (Ned) Specialized-lululemon

Standings after stage 1
1. Chloe Hosking (Aus) Hitec Products
2. Gracie Elvin (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge @ 6s
3. Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Specialized-lululemon @ 8s
4. Liesbet De Vocht (Bel) Rabobank-Liv Giant @ 12s
5. Kirsten Wild (Ned) Argos-Shimano @ 19s
6. Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica-GreenEdge
7. Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Wiggle-Honda @ 20s
8. Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) Cipollini-Giordana @ 21s
9. Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge
10. Simona Frapporti (Ita) Be Pink

Celebrating our tenth year!

Help Support the Daily Peloton

Related Articles
Help change UCI regulation for women in cyclocross
Tour de San Luis Womens’ Edition Announced
Wiggle Honda riders make the selection in stage 1 of Qatar

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |