Search the news archive:
Chicago Cyclocross Cup New Year's Resolution - UCI Elite Men
By Luke Allingham
Date: 1/5/2013
Chicago Cyclocross Cup New Year's Resolution - UCI Elite Men
At the Chicago Cyclocross Cup New Year's Resolution race on Saturday afternoon, U.S National Cyclocross Champion Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus) rode himself to victory. Beating James Driscoll (Cannondale- Cyclocrossworld) and California Giant Berry Farms - Specialized rider Yannick Eckman. The Chicago race was Powers last race before traveling to Madison, Wisconsin to defend his national title.

The UCI Elite Men's Podium. (l-r) Yannik Eckman, Jeremy Powers, and James Driscoll. Photo 2013 Roxanne King

As the snow began to cover the course in Bloomingdale, Illinois, the race kicked off. Shortly into the hour long race, a breakaway formed. Not far into the race a group of Tim Johnson (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld), Yannick Eckman, James Driscoll and Jeremy Powers formed. The riders in the main field played the cat and mouse game, bringing them back to the main field every so often. After a few times of being pulled back into the peloton, the group of four remained out front and never returned. It would remain to be that way until the closing laps of the race.

The breakaway included Johnson, Eckman, Powers and Driscoll. Photo 2013 Roxanne King

Throughout the race, Tim Johnson consistently attacked his breakaway companions, leaving them behind for short amounts of time before the three others would rejoin Johnson at the front of the race. Yannick Eckman also tried several attacks, riding away from the other breakaway members for short amounts of time before being reeled back into the group. U.S champion Jeremy Powers struggled throughout the race, having to stop in the pits several times throughout the race.

Tim Johnson riding in the breakaway. Photo 2013 Roxanne King

Late into the race, Tim Johnson struggled and was unable to keep in contact with the group when Jeremy Powers put the pressure on the front of the race. With just a few laps left in the race, Powers put the pressure on, separating himself from James Driscoll before the finish straight, giving himself enough time to sit up and salute the crowd as he rode across the finish line.

UCI Elite Men's Results
1. Jeremy Powers (Rapha Focus)
2. James Driscoll (Cannondale Cyclocrossworld)
3. Yannick Eckmann (California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized)
4. Timothy Johnson (Cannondale Cyclocrossworld)
5. Kerry Werner (BMC U23 Development MTB Team)
6. Troy Wells (TEAM CLIF BAR Cycling)
7. Ryan Knapp (Pony Shop Cyclocross)
8. Brian Matter (Racers Against Childhood Cancer)
9. Cody Kaiser (California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized)
10. Robert Marion (Carpediem Racing)

Celebrating our tenth year!

Help Support the Daily Peloton

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |