Search the news archive:
Giro della Toscana: Van Vleuten wins Guarnier 2nd
By Staff
Date: 8/30/2012
Giro della Toscana: Van Vleuten wins Guarnier 2nd

Megan Guarnier en route to defend Giro della Toscana Title

It’s day one of the Giro della Toscana and Team TIBCO is proving they are a force to be reckoned with. Megan Guarnier, who won the Giro last year, took 2nd in today’s 2.2-kilometer prologue with a time of 2’58.85 – just under 2 seconds behind the best time. Team TIBCO’s Amanda Miller finished 5 seconds back, securing 4th place, while Lauren Hall came in 8th.

“This is a great start to the Giro for Megan and the Team,” said the Team’s European directeur sportif Angela van Smoorenburg. “Megan is already in position to contend for the overall and she will have a very strong team to support her.”

Tomorrow, the battle for the pink jersey begins as the riders head from Porcari to Viareggio for Stage 1. The 107.9-kilometer route will take the riders over a couple of rollers before they hit the Category 2 climb mid-way through the race. With 50 kilometers of flat roads to the finish, the race will likely come down to a bunch sprint. Sprinters Lauren Hall and U.S. U23 National Criterium and Road Champion Samantha Schneider will be key riders in the leadup to the finish.

For real-time race updates, visit Michela Fanini.

Visit Giro della Toscana for further information.


1. Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Rabobank Women Cycling Team 0:02:57
2 Megan Guarnier (USA) Tibco To The Top 0:00:01
3 Alexandra Burchenkova (Rus) S.C. Michela Fanini Rox 0:00:04
4 Amanda Miller (USA) Tibco To The Top 0:00:05
5 Aleksandra Sosenko (Ltu) Vaiano Tepso
6 Rossella Ratto (Ita) Verinlegno Fabiani
7 Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) Mcipollini Giambenini
8 Lauren Hall (USA) Tibco To The Top 0:00:06
9 Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) Bepink?
10 Inga Cilvinaite (Ltu) Diadora Pasta Zara
11 Grete Treier (Est) S.C. Michela Fanini Rox
12 Katarzyna Sosna (Ltu) Vaiano Tepso
13 Simona Frapporti (Ita) Bepink 0:00:07
14 Elke Gebhardt (Ger) Bepink
15 Lisa Brennauer (Ger) German National Team
16 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Orica AIS 0:00:08
17 Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) Mcipollini Giambenini
18 Sara Duster (Ger) Rabobank Women Cycling Team
19 Carmen Small (USA) USA National Team
20 Tayler Wiles (USA) USA National Team

Share this:

Twitter Button from

Support the Daily Peloton

Celebrating our 11th year!

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |