Search the news archive:
1st Gent-Wevelgem: Elite Women
By Bart Hazen
Date: 3/26/2012
1st Gent-Wevelgem: Elite Women

1st Gent-Wevelgem: Elite Women
Lizzie Armitstead (AA Drink - solos to win in first women's Gent-Wevelgem. British National Champion wins with 51 seconds advantage on the chasing group led home by Iris Slappendel. Daams takes third in close sprint with Nöstvold.

Elizabeth Armitstead (AA Drink - has won the first women's edition of Gent-Wevelgem. The British National Champion attacked in the hills and rounded off an impressive solo of 40 km. Rabobank's Iris Slappendel won the sprint of the chasing group from Jessie Daams and Lise Nöstvold for second place at 51 seconds from Armitstead. Kirsten Wild won the sprint from the peloton 4 seconds later. Amy Pieters, Sarah Düster, Anouska Koster, Janneke Ensing and Lucy Martin rounded off the top ten.

Lizzie Armitstead wins the first women's edition of Gent-Wevelgem. Photo © 2012 Bart Hazen

In the first 60 km of the 113,7 km race there was not much happening. Apart from a few crashes and a split in the peloton due to the wind there were no real breaks. On the Baneberg after 68 km of racing Armitstead attacked and was followed by Liesbet de Vocht (Rabobank). De Vocht couldn't keep up with Armitstead and finally dropped back in a group with Kirsten Wild, Jessie Daams, Iris Slappendel and Lise Nöstvold.

Iris Slappendel and Jessie Daams finished in second and third. Photo © 2012 Bart Hazen

With 20 km to go Armitstead had already a gap of over 30 seconds on the five chasers and even more on a first bunch of about 30 riders. In the final 10 km De Vocht and Wild dropped off the chasing group and were caught by the first bunch. The bunch came close to three chasers Slappendel, Nöstvold and Daams but sprinted for the fifth place.

In front Armitstead was celebrating the win from far taking her second win of the season. Earlier she won the UCI race Omloop van het Hageland.

Iris Slappendel wins the sprint for second from Daams and Nöstvold. Photo © 2012 Bart Hazen

1. Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) 2u49:46
2. Iris Slappendel (Ned) 0:51
3. Jessie Daams (Bel)
4. Lise Nostvold (Nor);
5. Kirsten Wild (Ned) 0:55;
6. Amy Pieters (Ned);
7. Sarah Duster (Dui);
8. Anouska Koster (Ned);
9. Janneke Ensing (Ned);
10. Lucy Martin (GBr);

AA Drink - was in control most of the race. Photo © 2012 Bart Hazen

11. Maaike Polspoel (Bel);
12. Cherise Taylor (ZAf);
13. Natalie van Gogh (Ned);
14. Veronique Labonte (Can);
15. Suzanne de Goede (Ned);
16. Anisha Vekemans (Bel);
17. Isabelle Soderberg (Zwe);
18. Thea Thorsen (Noo);
19. Jessica Glasbergen (Ned);
20. Else Belmans (Bel);

Trying to setup an echelon. Photo © 2012 Bart Hazen

21. Laure Werner (Bel);
22. Stephanie De Croock (Bel);
23. Olivia Koster (Ned);
24. Madeleine Olsson (Zwe);
25. Kaat Hannes (Bel);
26. Janneke Kanis (Ned);
27. Josien van Wingerden (Ned);
28. Ine Beyen (Bel);
29. Esther Olthuis (Ned);
30. Emma Crum (NZl);
31. Carla Ryan (Aus);
32. Liesbet De Vocht (Bel);
33. Linda Ringlever (Ned);
34. Regina Bruins (Ned) 1:03;
35. Esra Tromp (Ned) 1:07;
36. Fiona Dutriaux (Fra) 2:37;
37. Rochelle Gilmore (Aus);
38. Celine Van Severen (Bel);
39. Femke Verstichelen (Bel);
40. Inge Klep (Ned);
41. Bianca Van den Hoek (Ned);
42. Kimberly Buyl (Bel);
43. Lauren Kitchen (Aus);
44. Liliane Leenknegt (Bel);
45. Evelyn Arys (Bel);
46. Annelies Dom (Bel);
47. Steffy Van Den Haute (Bel);
48. Karen Elzing (Ned);
49. Kelly Markus (Ned);
50. Annelies Visser (Ned)

Celebrating our tenth year!

Help Support the Daily Peloton

Related Articles
2012 Omloop van Strijen: Elite Women
AA Drink - previews Worlds TTT course
Guarnier wins Redlands Bicycle Classic

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |