Search the news archive:
39th Etoile des Bessèges - Stage 4 Just In
By Andy McGrath
Date: 2/8/2009
39th Etoile des Bessèges - Stage 4 Just In

They promised to wage war against Jure Kocjan and his small Carmioroo - A-Style team after claims of dishonest riding and breaking a promise. Yesterday in Allegre-les-Fumades, Thomas Voeckler delivered on that promise for a slighted Bouygues Telecom team. The diminiutive Frenchman, still best remembered for his long spell in the maillot jaune in the 2004 Tour de France, got away in a crucial 20-strong selection of riders after a frenetic first hour's racing. He then jumped away with Bjorn Leukemans (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team) in the final 25 kilometres.
Race leader Kocjan had made the split but without team-mates, he could only watch the race lead disappear up the road. Voeckler gifted Leukemans, back from a doping suspension, the stage victory - a first win for Vacansoleil. He was content to take on the mantle of race leader.

Sandy Casar (Francaise des Jeux) jumped away in lone pursuit, crossing the line 41 seconds in arrears. His team-mate and former track rider Mathieu Ladagnous won a sixteen-strong sprint four fourth, 1'33" behind controversial Leukemans, whose two-year ban was slashed to six months, meaning he can now race. Clearly, the layout has done little to curb his fitness, enthusiasm or desire to silence the naysayers.

39th Etoile des Bessèges, Stage 4, Results
1 Björn Leukemans (Vacansoleil) 3h 29m 59s
2 Thomas Voeckler (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) at 4"
3 Sandy Casar (Française des Jeux) at 41"
4 Matthieu Ladagnous (Française des Jeux) at 1'33"
5 Pierrick Fédrigo (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) mt
6 Johnny Hoogerland (Vacansoleil) mt
7 Benoît Vaugrenard (Française des Jeux) mt
8 Florian Vachon (Roubaix-Lille Métropole) mt
9 Sébastien Minard (Cofidis) mt
10 Frédéric Amorison (Landbouwkrediet) mt
11 Yuri Trofimov (Bouygues Telecom) mt
12 Jimmy Casper (Besson Chaussures-Sojasun) mt
13 Stéphane Goubert (AG2R-La Mondiale) mt
14 Rémi Cusin (Agritubel) mt
15 Jure Kocjan (Carmiooro-A-Style) mt
16 Sylvain Calzati (Agritubel) mt
17 Jonathan Hivert (Skil-Shimano) mt
18 Julien Simon (Besson Chaussures-Sojasun) mt
19 Damien Monier (Cofidis) mt
20 Jelle Vanendert (Silence-Lotto) mt
21 Albert Timmer (Skil Shimano) at 1'56"
22 Cédéric Coutouly (Besson Chaussures-Sojasun) at 2'11"
23 Simon Geschke (Skil-Shimano) at 5'31"
24 Glenn D'Hollander (Silence-Lotto) at 6'50"
25 James Vanlandschoot (Willems Veranda) mt
26 Romain Feillu (Agritubel) mt
27 Stefan Hristov (Cycling Team Bourgas) mt
28 David Boucher (Landbouwkrediet) mt
29 Philippe Pratte (Veranda Willems) mt
30 Rob Worstenborghs (Cycling Team Bourgas) mt
31 Hervé Duclos-Lassalle (Cofidis) mt
32 Fabien Bacquet (Auber 93) mt
33 Stefan Van Dijk (Veranda Willems) mt
34 Koen Barbé (Landbouwkrediet) mt
35 Sébastien Duret (Bretagne-Schuller) mt
36 Alexandre Lemair (Roubaix-Lille Métropole) mt
37 Benoît Sinner (Besson Chaussures-Sojasun) mt
38 Filip Meirhaeghe (Landbouwkrediet) mt
39 Yohan Cauquil (Cycling Team Bourgas) mt
40 Sébastien Portal (Cofidis) mt
41 Geert Verheyen (Landbouwkrediet) mt
42 Bert Scheirlinckx (Landbouwkrediet) mt
43 Denis Flahaut (Landbouwkrediet) mt
44 Nicolas Baïolet (Veranda Willems) mt
45 Frédéric Guesdon (Française des Jeux) mt
46 Maryan Hary (Cofidis) mt
47 Gil Suray (Roubaix-Lille Métropole) mt
48 Pieter Ghyllebert (Cycling Team Bourgas) mt
49 Sébastien Chavanel (Française des Jeux) mt
50 Arnaud Gérard (Française des Jeux) mt
51 Christophe Brandt (Silence-Lotto) mt
52 Mickaël Delage (Silence-Lotto) mt
53 Bert De Backer (Skil-Shimano) mt
54 Alexandre Aulas (Carmiooro-A-Style) mt
55 Michiel Elijzen (Silence-Lotto) mt
56 Hubert Dupont (AG2R-La Mondiale) mt
57 Steve Houanard (Skil-Shimano) mt
58 Jean-Luc Delpech (Bretagne-Schuller) mt
59 Greg Van Avermaet (Silence-Lotto) mt
60 Stéphane Bonsergent (Bretagne-Schuller) mt
61 Bastien Delrot (Roubaix-Lille Métropole) mt
62 Lilian Jégou (Bretagne-Schuller) mt
63 Jens Mouris (Vacansoleil) mt
64 Gerben Lowik (Vacansoleil) mt
65 Alexandre Blain (Cofidis) mt
66 Borut Bozic (Vacansoleil) mt
67 Cyril Dessel (AG2R-La Mondiale) mt
68 Freddy Bichot (Agritubel) mt
69 Christophe Laurent (Agritubel) mt
70 Jonathan Thiré (Auber 93) mt
71 Floris Goesinnen (Skil-Shimano) mt
72 Benny De Schrooder (An Post–Sean Kelly Team) mt
73 Nicolas Vogondy (Agritubel) mt
74 René Mandri (AG2R-La Mondiale) mt
75 Saïd Haddou (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) mt
76 Jean-Marc Bideau (Bretagne-Schuller) mt
77 Kevin Van Melsen (Veranda Willems) mt
78 Eric Berthou (Carmiooro-A-Style) mt
79 Kenny Lisabeth (An Post–Sean Kelly Team) mt
80 Olivier Bonnaire (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) mt
81 Romain Mathéou (Besson Chaussures-Sojasun) mt
82 Sébastien Fournet-Fayart (Carmiooro-A-Style) mt
83 Fumiyuki Beppu (Skil-Shimano) mt
84 Nadir Haddou (Auber 93) mt
85 Vladimir Koev (Cycling Team Bourgas) mt
86 Julien Mazet (Auber 93) mt
87 Steven Van Vooren (An Post–Sean Kelly Team) mt
88 Jean-Eudes Demaret (Cofidis) mt
89 Piet Rooijakkers (Skil-Shimano) mt
90 Gaël Malacarne (Bretagne-Schuller) mt
91 Alexander Efimkin (AG2R-La Mondiale) mt
92 Paul Brousse (Carmiooro-A-Style) mt
93 Daniele Colli (Carmiooro-A-Style) mt
94 Jimmy Engoulvent (Besson Chaussures-Sojasun) mt
95 Jef Peeters (An Post–Sean Kelly Team) mt
96 Mart Ojavee (Cycling Team Bourgas) mt
97 Clément Lhotellerie (Vacansoleil) mt
98 Matthew Brammeier (An Post–Sean Kelly Team) mt
99 Johan Mombaerts (Auber 93) mt
100 Frederik Veuchelen (Vacansoleil) mt
101 Sergio Pardilla (Carmiooro-A-Style) mt
102 Zakkari Dempster (Cycling Team Bourgas) mt
103 Steven Tronet (Roubaix-Lille Métropole) mt
104 Reinier Honig (Vacansoleil) mt
105 William Bonnet (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) mt
106 Sébastien Hinault (AG2R-La Mondiale) mt
107 Tony Gallopin (Auber 93) mt
108 Christophe Riblon (AG2R-La Mondiale) mt
109 Niko Eeckhout (An Post–Sean Kelly Team) mt
110 Nicolas Jouanno (Bretagne-Schuller) mt
111 Florian Guillou (Roubaix-Lille Métropole) mt
112 Florian Morizot (Besson Chaussures-Sojasun) mt
113 Pierre Rolland (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) mt
114 Pierre Cazaux (Roubaix-Lille Métropole) mt
115 Romain Lebreton (Bretagne-Schuller) mt
116 Anthony Ravard (Agritubel) mt
117 Franck Bouyer (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) mt
118 Cyril Bessy (Besson Chaussures-Sojasun) mt
119 Maxime Médérel (Auber 93) mt
120 Sébastien Joly (Française des Jeux) mt
121 Ronan McLaughlin (An Post–Sean Kelly Team) at 10'31"
122 Maxim Gourov (Carmiooro-A-Style) mt
123 Olivier Pardini (Veranda Willems) mt

Related Articles
39th Etoile des Bessèges - Stage 1
39th Etoile des Bessèges - Stage 2
39th Etoile des Bessèges - Stage 3 Updated

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |