Search the news archive:
Landbouwkrediet-Colnago 2009
By Bart Hazen
Date: 1/17/2009
Landbouwkrediet-Colnago 2009

Landbouwkrediet-Colnago 2009

The Belgian Pro Continental team Landbouw-Colnago has been presented in Anderlecht this week. The team consists of thirteen Belgian, four French and one Dutch rider. The team of manager Gerard Bulens already has a perfect season start with the wins of Sven Nys in his own GP in Baal and the Belgian National Cyclocross Championships.

The 2009 Landbouwkrediet team
Photo © 2009 Yoni Peeters

The team consists of eighteen riders and has two team captains with Bert De Waele and sprinter Denis Flahaut (ex-Saunier Duval). Next to that the team is counting on the talented young guns as neo-pro Jonathan Bertrand. With riders as De Waele, Meirhaeghe, Nys, Scheirlinckx and Verheyen the team has also lots of experience in the team.

David Boucher, Denis Flahaut, Mathieu Drouilly and Martial Ricci Poggi
Photo © 2009 Yoni Peeters

The goals of the team is to show themselves in every important race which will be broadcasted on TV. The goals for team captain De Waele is to win a TV race (for example one of the Belgian classics) and to get a spot in the Belgian team for the World Championships in Mendrisio.

Bert de Waele
Photo © 2009 Yoni Peeters

Sven Nys will also do a part of the road season. Normally he will start in the Tour of Belgium and the Ster Elektro Toer in order to prepare the Belgian Championships in Aywaille. The Belgian Championships is one of the main goals of manager Gerard Bulens.

Sven Nys
Photo © 2009 Yoni Peeters

Last year the team gained nine victories. For 2009 the management expects more victories.

Sponsor Landbouwkrediet is a Belgian bank without a foreign branch. So it's logical the team wants to show itself especially in the Belgian races.

Manager Gerard Bulens
Photo © 2009 Yoni Peeters

2009 team
Manager: Gérard Bulens (Bel)
Sport-directors: Gino Verhasselt (Bel), Claude Vancoille (Bel), Marco Saligari (Ita), Jozef De Bilde (Bel)

Frédéric Amorison (Bel)
Koen Barbé (Bel)
Dirk Bellemakers (Ned)

Filip Meirhaeghe
Photo © 2009 Yoni Peeters

Jonathan Bertrand (Bel)
David Boucher (Fra)
Bert De Waele (Bel)
Sébastien Delfosse (Bel)
Matthieu Drouilly (Fra)
Denis Flahaut (Fra)
Benjamin Gourgue (Bel)
Filip Meirhaeghe (Bel)
Kevin Neirinck (Bel)
Sven Nys (Bel)
Kevin Peeters (Bel)
Rob Peeters (Bel)
Martial Ricci Poggi (Fra)
Bert Scheirlinckx (Bel)
Geert Verheyen (Bel)

Rob Peeters
Photo © 2009 Yoni Peeters

In: Koen Barbé (Topsport Vlaanderen), Jonathan Bertramd (Bodysol-Euro Millions), Mathieu Drouilly (Mitsubishi-Jartazi), Denis Flahaut (Scott-American Beef), Kevin Peeters (Elite 2), Martial Ricci Poggi (Mitsubishi-Jartazi), Geert Verheyen (Mitsubishi-Jartazi).

Out: Andy Cappelle (Elite 2), Ed Clancy (Team Halfords), Steven Kleynen (Elite 2), Jan Kuyckx (Elite 2), Paul Manning (Retires), Nico Sijmens (Cofidis), Ian Stannard (?), Tom Steels (Retires), Wouter van Mechelen (Fidea)

Most Important Victories/Podium Places (Road Races) 2008

Sebastien Delfosse
Photo © 2009 Yoni Peeters

Etoile de Bessèges - Stage 1: Jan Kuyckx

Second Places
Paris-Tours: Jan Kuyckx
Boucles de L'Aulne: Nico Sijmens
GP Cholet - Pays de Loire: Bert de Waele

Third places
Omloop van de Vlaamse Scheldeboorden: Wouter van Mechelen
Tour of Britain: Ian Stannard
Vlaamse Havenpijl: Wouter van Mechelen
Delta Tour - Prologue: David Boucher

David Boucher
Photo © 2009 Yoni Peeters

Sven Nys and Rob Peeters scored well during the 2008-2009 cross season. Rob Peeters won the cross in Sint-Niklaas while Sven Nys is leading the World Cup, Gazet van Antwerpen and the Superprestige.

Cyclocross 2008-2009 season thus far

Sven Nys
2008: 1st Neerpelt, Cyclocross, Neerpelt (BEL)
2008: 1st Dottignies, Cyclocross (BEL)
2008: 1st Ruddervoorde, Cyclocross (BEL)
2008: 1st Kalmthout, Cyclocross (BEL)
2008: 1st Koppenberg, Cyclocross, Oudenaarde (Melden) (BEL)
2008: 3rd Veghel-Eerde, Cyclocross (NED)
2008: 1st Eernegem Cyclocross (BEL)
2008: 3rd Pijnacker-Nootdorp, Cyclocross, Pijnacker (NED)

Sven Nys
Photo © 2009 Yoni Peeters

2008: 3rd Niel, Cyclocross (BEL)
2008: 1st Gavere - Asper, Cyclocross (BEL)
2008: 1st Hamme-Zogge, Cyclocross (BEL)
2008: 2nd Koksijde, Cyclocross (BEL)
2008: 3rd Gieten, Cyclocross (NED)
2008: 1st Igorre, Cyclocross (ESP)
2008: 2nd Asteasu, Cyclocross (ESP)
2008: 1st Essen, Cyclocross (BEL)
2008: 3rd Overijse, Cyclocross (BEL)
2008: 2nd Nommay, Cyclocross (FRA)

Sven Nys
Photo © 2009 Yoni Peeters

2008: 3rd Diegem, Cyclocross (BEL)
2008: 1st Middelkerke, Cyclocross (BEL)
2008: 2nd Loenhout, Cyclocross (BEL)
2009: 1st Baal, Cyclocross (BEL)
2009: 1st National Championships, Cyclocross, Elite, Belgium, Ruddervoorde

Rob Peeters
2008: 2nd Dottignies, Cyclocross (BEL)
2008: 3rd Hasselt, Cyclocross (BEL)

The 2009 team bike of Colnago
Photo © 2009 Yoni Peeters

  • Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product - contact us.
  • Do you have a passion for cycling and a yen to write? contact us.
Related Articles
Ag2r la Mondiale - 2009 ProTour Team
Rabobank Continental Team 2009
Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni - Androni Giocattoli 2009

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |