Search the news archive:
2009 Tour Down Under - 'Cancer Council Classic'
By Nick Bull
Date: 1/17/2009
2009 Tour Down Under - 'Cancer Council Classic'

2009 Tour Down Under - Adelaide Criterium 'Cancer Council Classic'
Preview of the tour prelude of the Down Under Classic opener. Team Rosters & Bib Numbers.

All eyes are on Australia for the next week, as the Tour Down Under kicks off the much maligned Pro-Tour season. Mistakenly, it isn't the event that kicks off the professional season; that honour goes to the Cancer Council Classic, a Criterium race around Adelaide's Rymill Park on Sunday. This race has been the curtain-raiser of the season for the last few years, though the race title has simply been the Down Under Classic. The 2008 race was in Glenelg instead of Adelaide, though the race has moved back to its more traditional home this year.

The Route
Along with the new name, the other slight change to the Adelaide race is the route. In previous years, the circuit around the Rymill Park measured 2km. For 2009, it is down to 1.7km, with the removal of a short section along the East Terrace, which contained a tight hairpin bend and actually took the riders outside the Park area.

The now parallelogram-esque circuit is completely flat, and and with the exception of a difficult bend that takes the riders along the Dequetteville Terrace, there is nothing to worry the peloton.

With a slightly smaller circuit for 2009, the race will run over 30 laps, as opposed to 25, and measure 51km in length – 1km more than last year. The Classic begins at 7pm local time, with organisers predicting a race time of seventy-minutes. The 2007 race was completed in 1hr3minutes. A sprint competition will run alongside the honour of winning the race; four sprints at the end of laps 5,10,15 and 20 will give points to the first rider across the finish line.

The Riders
Robbie McEwen (Team Katusha), Mark Renshaw and Andre Greipel (both Team Columbia) – the last three victors in this race –are riding, though Greipel's victory came in Glenelg, which was the closest city to the start of the 2008 Tour Down Under. Ironically, Renshaw and McEwen both trailed Griepel in 2008, who was also the dominant sprinter in the subsequent stage race. Another Columbia rider, Bernhard Eisel, is likely to form part of the sprinters' lead-out train, but is a fast finisher himself.

Unless you've been hiding in cave for the past six months, Australia is the country in which Lance Armstrong makes his professional comeback. He has already discounted winning the week long stage race that follows the Cancer Council Classic, though the title of this Criterium fits perfectly with his ambitions for 2009.

Another former Tour de France winner, Oscar Pereiro, is also making his comeback. The Spaniard suffered a leg break on the descent of the Col de Agnel on Stage 15 of last year's Grande Boucle, so is likely to use this and the Tour Down Under to acclimatise to racing again.

Australian sprinter Graeme Brown (Rabobank) Milram's Christian Knees and Allan Davis (4th in 2008, now riding for Quick Step) are also likely to challenge for the honours.

Tour Down Under
Teams, Riders & Bib Numbers

Team Columbia (Usa)
1. Andre Greipel Ger
2. George Hincapie Usa
3. Michael Rogers Aus
4. Bernhard Eisel Aut
5. Mark Renshaw Aus
6. Greg Henderson Nzl
7. Adam Hansen Aus

Astana (Lux)
11. Lance Armstrong Usa
12. Assan Bazayev Kaz
13. Jesus Hernandez Esp
14. Michael Schar Sui
15. Maxim Iglinskiy Kaz
16. Steve Morabito Sui
17. Jose Luis Rubiera Esp

Ag2r La Mondiale (Fra)
21. Martin Elmiger Sui
22. Sebastien Hinault Fra
23. Vladimir Efimkin Rus
24. Alexandr Pliuschin Mda
25. Nicholas Roche Irl
26. Rene Mandri Est
27. Alexander Efimkin Rus

Silence - Lotto (Bel)
31. Mario Aerts Bel
32. Glenn D'hollander Bel
33. Pieter Jacobs Bel
34. Olivier Kaisen Bel
35. Jonas Ljungblad Swe
36. Matthew Lloyd Aus
37. Tom Stubbe Bel

Team Katusha (Rus)
41. Robbie Mcewen Aus
42. Gert Steegmans Bel
43. Kenny De Haes Bel
44. Juan Horrach Esp
45. Stijn Vandenbergh Bel
46. Sergey Klimov Rus
47. Nikolay Trusov Rus

Team Saxo Bank (Den)
51. Stuart O'grady Aus
52. Jens Voigt Ger
53. Nicki Sorensen Den
54. Kasper Klostergaard Den
55. Matthew Goss Aus
56. Frank Hoj Den
57. Anders Lund Den

Bbox Bouygues Telecom (Fra)
61. Matthieu Sprick Fra
62. Mathieu Claude Fra
63. Vincent Jerome Fra
64. Laurent Lefevre Fra
65. Rony Martias Fra
66. Alexandre Pichot Fra
67. Perrig Quemeneur Fra

Cofidis (Fra)
71. David Moncoutie Fra
72. Mickael Buffaz Fra
73. Aliaksandr Usau Blr
74. Guillaume Blot Fra
75. Florent Brard Fra
76. Julien El Fares Fra
77. Rein Taaramae Est

Francaise Des Jeux (Fra)
81. Mikael Cherel Fra
82. Remy Di Gregorio Fra
83. Timothy Gudsell Nzl
84. Jussi Veikkanen Fin
85. Yoann Offredo Fra
86. Jeremy Roy Fra
87. Wesley Sulzberger Aus

Caisse d'Epargne (Esp)
91. Oscar Pereiro Esp
92. Luis Leon Sanchez Esp
93. Jose Rojas Esp
94. Pablo Lastras Esp
95. Mathieu Perget Fra
96. Imanol Erviti Esp
97. Mathieu Drujon Fra

Quick Step (Bel)
101. Allan Davis Aus
102. Matteo Tosatto Ita
103. Dries Devenyns Bel
104. Davide Malacarne Ita
105. Francesco Reda Ita
106. Hubert Schwab Sui
107. Kurt Hovelijnck Bel


Euskaltel - Euskadi (Esp)
111. Josu Agirre Esp
112. Pablo Urtasun Esp
113. Inaki Isasi Esp
114. Andoni Lafuente Esp
115. Markel Irizar Esp
116. Sergio De Lis Esp
117. Aitor Hernandez Esp

Milram (Ger)
121. Christian Knees Ger
122. Luca Barla Ita
123. Martin Muller Ger
124. Markus Eichler Ger
125. Willem Stroetinga Ned
126. Thomas Rohregger Aut
127. Ronny Scholz Ger

Lampre - N.G.C (Ita)
131. Matteo Bono Ita
132. Emanuele Bindi Ita
133. Andrea Grendene Ita
134. Mauro Santambrogio Ita
135. Vitaliy Buts Ukr
136. Volodymyr Zagorodniy Ukr
137. David Loosli Sui

Rabobank (Ned)
141. Graeme Brown Aus
142. Stef Clement Ned
143. Mathew Hayman Aus
144. Jos Van Emden Ned
145. Rick Flens Ned
146. Tom Leezer Ned
147. Kai Reus Ned

Liquigas (Ita)
151. Maciej Bodnar Pol
152. Cladio Corioni Ita
153. Gianni Da Ros Ita
154. Gjacopo Uarnieri Ita
155. Aliaksandr Kuchynski Blr
156. Francesco Chicchi Ita
157. Frederick Willems Bel

Garmin - Slipstream (Usa)
161. Julian Dean Nzl
162. Trent Lowe Aus
163. Timmy Duggan Usa
164. Chris Sutton Aus
165. Cameron Meyer Aus
166. Ryder Hesjedal Can
167. Christian Meier Can

Fuji - Servetto (Esp)
171. Daniele Nardello Ita
172. Ermanno Capelli Ita
173. Hilton Clarke Aus
174. Javier Megias Esp
175. Davide Vigano Ita
176. William Walker Aus
177. Ivan Dominquez Usa

Unisa - Australia (Aus)
181. Baden Cooke Vic
182. Aaron Kemps Qld
183. Scott Davis Qld
184. Travis Meyer Wa
185. Jack Bobridge Sa
186. Simon Clarke Vic
187. Matthew Wilson Vic


  • Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product - contact us.
  • Do you have a passion for cycling and a yen to write? contact us.
Related Articles
2009 Tour Down Under - Italian ProTour Squads Announced
2009 Tour Down Under - UniSA-Australia Team
2009 Tour Down Under - Quick Step & Milram Announce Teams

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |